Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: GRUB geom error

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    11,707

    Re: GRUB geom error

    From the Live CD you should be able to:

    Code:
    sudo mount /dev/sdc6 /mnt && sudo mount --bind /dev /mnt/dev &&sudo mount --bind /proc /mnt/proc && sudo chroot /mnt
    Code:
    grub-install /dev/sdc
    If that shows any errors then:

    Code:
    grub-install --recheck /dev/sdc
    Then exit, unmount, and reboot:

    Code:
    exit
    Code:
    sudo umount /mnt/dev && sudo umount /mnt/proc && sudo umount /mnt
    Code:
    sudo reboot

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    italy
    Beans
    33
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: GRUB geom error

    I do this but it gives always to me that error.look yourself...
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    11,707

    Re: GRUB geom error

    OK look here:

    http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawik..._For_boot/grub

    If that doesn't work I still have one more trick up my sleeve

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    italy
    Beans
    33
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: GRUB geom error

    I've done both.the first gives me an error, the second seems to load something but after 10 mins has not ended yet...uff i'm unable!!!any other suggestion?thanks!!!

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    11,707

    Re: GRUB geom error

    Just happened to think I wasn't very clear. Referring to that last link when it says:

    Install grub via

    Code:
    sudo mount dev/sdXY /mnt
    sudo grub-install --recheck --root-directory=/mnt /dev/sdZ
    "sdXY = sdc6"
    "sdZ = sdc"

    And you don't have a separate /boot partition or a a custom designed device.map.

    So the next step is to revert your external drive to legacy grub, but I would like to have you run the Boot Info Script again and post the new results.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    11,707

    Re: GRUB geom error

    Quote Originally Posted by stefano91 View Post
    I've done both.the first gives me an error, the second seems to load something but after 10 mins has not ended yet...uff i'm unable!!!any other suggestion?thanks!!!
    Sorry I got distracted with a phone call. Refer to my last post.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    italy
    Beans
    33
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: GRUB geom error

    ok here is the result...but i tried to boot from usb hard disk first.and i can chose between xp,ubuntu,ubuntu recovery and memory test.i selected ubuntu but during loading(and it is also quite slow,normal?)the loading bar stops and it crash.i also tried the recovery mode but after a lot of time it gives me an error but i don't remember exactly what because i did it yesterday eveneing...
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    italy
    Beans
    33
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: GRUB geom error

    Plese can some one help me?is there a command ti know where is rhe problem?or i have to do something else?thank you very much!

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: GRUB geom error

    You are past boot problems and into something on your system not working correctly. We need to know the last command it tried to run from the recovery boot.

    Did your system boot ok from the liveCD? Sometimes added parameters are needed to get a video card to work.

    Others with slow boots have solved them this way.

    Slow boot change device.map
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1313207

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...b2/+bug/420933
    Slow boot, multi drives, known issue, move boot to same drive & adjust BIOS
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure grub-pc

    Very long boot solved with experimental grub1.98 post8
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1367488
    UEFI boot install & repair info - Regularly Updated :
    https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    italy
    Beans
    33
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: GRUB geom error

    yes from Cd it boot perfectly!and also from windows.it also find the grub and find the ubuntu installation.but when there is the loading with the bar under the writing "ubuntu" the lighting ball of loading bar stops after a few second.and nothing else happen.and i can't see the motivation...

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •