Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Notes to Myself as I Learn Linux

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Question Notes to Myself as I Learn Linux

I would like to keep detailed, well-organized reference notes to myself as I learn tips and tricks and solve things in Linux. This way I'd have one place to look when I need to remind myself how I resolved something in the past, without always having to search through the Forums. It may also benefit others along the way but that would be a bonus.

I'm looking for recommendations as to the best-suited method for doing this.

1. I could make a custom web site. (require extra work when there are easier, more efficient solutions)
    2. I could install Wordpress on my existing host and use that, or any other blog system. (I've no experience with it, but I'm sure it would work, although it may be overkill for what I want to do.)
    3. Something like Tomboy Notes? (I have yet to figure out a practical use for this application, but am very curious how to get the most of this tool.)
    4. I'm sure I'm missing other options... I'm eager to hear other suggestions.

Local solution would be nice for times when I am away from Internet, but a web-friendly format would be nice for having access anywhere. Also, I want to be able to get to the info easily if my system is down or messed up, so I don't want the info locked away in some really special format that can't be easily read with a minimal system.
    I'd rather die fighting lions than being trampled by geese.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Re: Notes to Myself as I Learn Linux

Hello,

I 'll give you my experience on the issue. For me there are two nice solutions:

i) either create your own site as you say (there are many users that have done this, with very nice, detailed and useful information about Ubuntu and Linux in general) as well as