Thread: [C] Returning a "failed" status from a function

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

[C] Returning a "failed" status from a function

Hi,

I'm currently studying C at university and I need to tell the main program that a function has "failed" without making the main program think that the failed status is a returned value.

In python, this is easy. I would just return False instead of the actual return value of the function, however, in C, I can't seem to return something that's not of the type I've defined the function to return. So I'm really confused about what to do...

My simplified code is this:
    Code:
    double sqrt_function(a,b) {
        return sqrt(a-b);
    }

int main() {
        answer = sqrt_function(a,b);
    }
    I need to tell the main function that the sqrt_function function has failed when a is bigger than b, however, I see no way to do this without the main function interpreting the return value as a proper value...

Ugh, I've only just started C programming and I'm already hating it. Python is way better

Thanks!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: [C] Returning a "failed" status from a function

What does the C-language library do if you call tan() or sin() or using your example sqrt() and it fails. If you don't know, find out and do the same thing or something similar. Hint -- Look at math.h.

Your example calls sqrt() and it could very easily fail as programmed.
    How will you know if that happens? What will your code do when it happens? What can your code do and be defensive against these troubles?

The standard run-time-libraries are much better at this than they were not that long ago.

NOTE -- I've taught C-language programming since the early 1980's. Once you discover the answers to the above questions I believe you are on your way to being a much MUCH better programmer.