Thread: I need a sound card recommendation please.

Beans

I need a sound card recommendation please.

I'm a linux newbie who's been feuding with audio for some time now.. I'll get it working *kinda*.. for a little while.. then something will bork again and I'm stuck with no sound. I want something that's very likely to "just work" in this situation.. so please, if you can help out here, I'd love to hear from you.

I'm getting a new sound card. I have no idea what kind yet.. which is what I'm asking you all for recommendations on.. but I'm tired of crap that doesn't work, requires me to re-code tons of things to get working, etc.. After the 19th time of running back and forth through every audio tutorial I can find, trying to get either my onboard audio or my SB Live! 7.1 to work, only to never get it to work properly, if at all... I'm frustrated.

I have just purchased a decent set of 5.1 speakers from Logitech. I need a simple soundcard that will work with it.. which amounts, as far as I can tell, to just 3 outputs to connect to the woofer which then goes out to the rest.. But the trick is.. I need the sound card to actually work fully with some recent version of Ubuntu.

I've had a 6 month nightmare with linux audio.. I'm no more knowledgeable than I was starting out, just a heckuva lot more confused. I need something that I can plug in and have it do its bit, with a very minimal amount of fiddling... preferably none.

I'd prefer Jaunty or Karmic.. Actually, at this point, Jaunty is probably preferable since I've had nothing but trouble with Karmic.. but if it'll work, I really don't care.. I just want proper functionality.

This is for a desktop.. running a DFI Lanparty NF4 motherboard..not exactly sure anymore which variant.. far as I'm aware, just a standard PCI slot for the card.