Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Secondary Drive error

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Secondary Drive error

I have been using Ubuntu for the past 3 months and only recently I occurred a problem, I have on my secondary IDE cable connected a DVD-RW Drive and a hard drive, this setup has been working so far until yesterday and I am unsure what I did wrong, I get the following error when I try to mount the hard drive:
    Error mounting: mount exited with exit code 1: helper failed with:
    Failed to write lock '/dev/sdb1': Resource temporarily unavailable
    Error opening '/dev/sdb1': Resource temporarily unavailable
    Failed to mount '/dev/sdb1': Resource temporarily unavailable

Only the hard drive seems to be having this problem, my DVD-RW drive works perfectly fine, I tried disconnecting the DVD-RW drive and the error is still there.

Thanks in advance

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Secondary Drive error

go to your disk utility and see whats wrong please...
    Comitas. Brevitas. Nulla ambitio.

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu

Is the HDD the Master or the Slave connection? Sometimes it doesn't matter, but sometimes you have to poke around in BIOS to make it work.

Cheers.

EDIT: see the next two posts for a more sensible first step
    Last edited by HarrisonNapper; January 29th, 2010 at 08:31 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

This may seem a silly point, but first I would check that the cables are still connected properly - power and data, to both motherboard and drive. Unplug then plug each cable to ensure.
    It's time to behave now the noughties are over.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Quote Originally Posted by dnairb View Post
    This may seem a silly point, but first I would check that the cables are still connected properly - power and data, to both motherboard and drive. Unplug then plug each cable to ensure.