Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Odd 100% CPU spike every half hour?

Beans
    Hidden!

Odd 100% CPU spike every half hour?

Okay, I'm not sure what the problem is, so I'm posting this here in General. I'll repost or move it or something if this should go somewhere else, in the meantime, I could really use some help with this!

I've been using Ubuntu for a few years now without any real problems. I've been upgrading, but not doing a fresh install for some time. Originally I installed Ubuntu with Gnome, but eventually switched to XFCE because it was lighter. Recently, I put a new SATA hard drive into my computer and shortly noticed that every half hour my system stalled out. CPU would spike to 100% and everything would stall for about 20-30 seconds or so. So after a while, I shut things down and took the hard drive back out. The CPU spikes continued. Shortly after that, my primary hard drive(also Sata) had some sort of mental melt-down and Xubuntu refused to boot past the login screen - the login splash would come up, but no login drop-down to select user. No spot to type password/user, nothing, just the splash screen background. So I'm thinking perhaps I broke something, it's been a while since I did a fresh install. So I did a fresh install of Xubuntu 9.10. The new hard-drive is still disconnected and after a bit of reinstalling softare, everything is mostly back to normal...except every half hour, regular as clockwork, my system freezes up for about 20-30 seconds as CPU goes 100%. This does not happen on the half hour and hour, and the timing is every so slightly more then half an hour(I suspect by about 20-30 seconds) so that every day this spike occurs slightly later. Rebooting seems to change when it happens, so I suspect it's some software or resource running. Cron -l shows nothing scheduled. Unfortunately, I have no clue where to even begin looking for the problem. Does anyone have any ideas?

Please help!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu