Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: desktop earth for linux

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

desktop earth for linux

I'd love to see this happen but right now it's only available for windows.. any chance of getting it to work in linux?

http://www.codefromthe70s.org/desktopearth.aspx

~
    Desktop:ASRock P4i65GV/P4 2.8ghz 2gbram
    Laptop:Toshiba L350-PSLD8C Centrino64 dualcore 2ghz 4gbram

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Thumbs down Re: desktop earth for linux

I saw this in one of the full circle magazines and had to have it. same problem only available for *******. I'm not a master programmer dispite what my friends and family think, i just know how to get the results I want.

the original updates as the year goes by (more snow in canida) and you can have the program update cloud cover every 3 hours.

my fix does not update cloud cover, and the images are the same year round. but the time updates.

So I install this on my dual boot system changed my system time to every hour on the hour and half hour and saved 48 images. I then copied the xml script from /usr/share/backgounds/cosmos and modified it to fit what I needed. it works quite well I think, at lease good enough for me.

If you port the full program please let me know as I would prefer that but this is all the effort I'm putting into a wallpaper.

http://www.2shared.com/file/u8M5RJX6/earthtar.html

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate

Re: desktop earth for linux

Not very many pop-ups there, can we have a few more please.....
    Intel Pentium Dual Core 2.6 Ghz 2 Gb ram, Asus P5KPL motherboard, 2.5 TB Storage running Hardy.
    HP Pentium 4 2.8 Ghz 756 mb ram running Intrepid.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Wow that looks great
    But let me point you to something just a little more mind-blowing... and just a little closer to home.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...&postcount=245