Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Karmic cant play region 1 DVDs?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    15

    Karmic cant play region 1 DVDs?

    my laptop is having issues with DVD's.
    I can play region free DVD's (they were gifts), but I can't play any of my legit Region 1 DVD's?
    I downloaded the codecs from the software center but for whatever reason, They don't work, both Mplayer and Movie player just give me error messages when I load the disks. I know the disks are being read, their name pops up and everything, but I guess it just cant read the files.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Lancashire
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Karmic cant play region 1 DVDs?

    Hi
    Try running regionset.
    It will tell you which region it's set to, and how many lives you've got left.

    Regionset is a small utility which displays and sets
    the region/zone setting of a DVD drive, allowing it to decrypt
    the DVD's sold in this geographical zone. Hardware vendors
    often limit the number of such modifications, but it is
    necessary to set it at least once with a brand new drive.

    Get it through Synaptic or use:-
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install regionset

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    15

    Re: Karmic cant play region 1 DVDs?

    OK that didn't seem to help, Keeps giving me the same error messages as before.

    When I ran the install it said something like [region 0.1-3] no clue what that means though.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Beans
    2,400

    Re: Karmic cant play region 1 DVDs?

    It could be because the region 1 dvds have special protection?

    Is libdvdcss installed?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    15

    Re: Karmic cant play region 1 DVDs?

    tried to install libdvdcss, this is what I got back

    "Package libdvdcss is not available, but is referred to by another package.
    This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
    is only available from another source"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    1,089

    Re: Karmic cant play region 1 DVDs?

    Quote Originally Posted by Naphrys View Post
    OK that didn't seem to help, Keeps giving me the same error messages as before.

    When I ran the install it said something like [region 0.1-3] no clue what that means though.
    I think 0.1-3 was just the version of regionset (seehttp://packages.ubuntu.com/karmic/regionset). You need to run regionset to set your DVD drive to be at region 1 (presumably it's not at that now). It may also be a problem if you don't have the libdvdcss package installed.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    13,072

    Re: Karmic cant play region 1 DVDs?

    Either add medibuntu to your sources and then try to install libdvdcss2 again Copy and paste complete command into terminal
    Code:
    sudo wget --output-document=/etc/apt/sources.list.d/medibuntu.list http://www.medibuntu.org/sources.list.d/$(lsb_release -cs).list && sudo apt-get --quiet update && sudo apt-get --yes --quiet --allow-unauthenticated install medibuntu-keyring && sudo apt-get --quiet update
    Or run this (again c & p complete command

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install gstreamer0.10-ffmpeg gstreamer0.10-plugins-bad \
    gstreamer0.10-plugins-ugly \
    && sudo /usr/share/doc/libdvdread4/install-css.sh
    Then if need be address region setting

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    15

    Re: Karmic cant play region 1 DVDs?

    Quote Originally Posted by mc4man View Post
    Either add medibuntu to your sources and then try to install libdvdcss2 again Copy and paste complete command into terminal
    Code:
    sudo wget --output-document=/etc/apt/sources.list.d/medibuntu.list http://www.medibuntu.org/sources.list.d/$(lsb_release -cs).list && sudo apt-get --quiet update && sudo apt-get --yes --quiet --allow-unauthenticated install medibuntu-keyring && sudo apt-get --quiet update
    Or run this (again c & p complete command

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install gstreamer0.10-ffmpeg gstreamer0.10-plugins-bad \
    gstreamer0.10-plugins-ugly \
    && sudo /usr/share/doc/libdvdread4/install-css.sh
    Then if need be address region setting

    This fixed it, thank you!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Koutiala
    Beans
    20
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Karmic cant play region 1 DVDs?

    I was just playing with regionset today too, and found this interesting. I could change my drive to region 0 ( so it plays all regions now..) see what i tried at the commandline. I searched a bit and it seems nobody else reported this, so I hope it is worth reporting it here.

    This is how I started and accidently I had a region 0 dvd in the dvd drive

    anco@anco-HP-Desktop:~$ regionset
    regionset version 0.1 -- reads/sets region code on DVD drives
    Current Region Code settings:
    RPC Phase: II
    type: SET
    vendor resets available: 4
    user controlled changes resets available: 3
    drive plays discs from region(s): 1, mask=0xFE

    Would you like to change the region setting of your drive? [y/n]:y
    Enter the new region number for your drive [1..8]:0
    New mask: 0x00, correct? [y/n]:y
    Region code set successfully!


    Totally surprising it accepted my stubborn 0 while it was asking for 1..8 http://ubuntuforums.org/images/smili..._surprised.gif
    This I had to check

    anco@anco-HP-Desktop:~$ regionset
    regionset version 0.1 -- reads/sets region code on DVD drives
    Current Region Code settings:
    RPC Phase: II
    type: SET
    vendor resets available: 4
    user controlled changes resets available: 2
    drive plays discs from region(s): 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8, mask=0x00

    Would you like to change the region setting of your drive? [y/n]:y
    Enter the new region number for your drive [1..8]:2
    New mask: 0xFFFFFFFD, correct? [y/n]:y
    ERROR: Region code could not be set!


    What it did not set region 2 ?
    Okay other test I picked up a region 1 dvd and inserted it.

    anco@anco-HP-Desktop:~$ regionset
    regionset version 0.1 -- reads/sets region code on DVD drives
    Current Region Code settings:
    RPC Phase: II
    type: SET
    vendor resets available: 4
    user controlled changes resets available: 2
    drive plays discs from region(s): 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8, mask=0x00

    Would you like to change the region setting of your drive? [y/n]:y
    Enter the new region number for your drive [1..8]:1
    New mask: 0xFFFFFFFE, correct? [y/n]:y
    Region code set successfully!


    So with a DVD in the player from that region I could set it to that region

    anco@anco-HP-Desktop:~$ regionset
    regionset version 0.1 -- reads/sets region code on DVD drives
    Current Region Code settings:
    RPC Phase: II
    type: LAST CHANCE
    vendor resets available: 4
    user controlled changes resets available: 1
    drive plays discs from region(s): 1, mask=0xFE

    Would you like to change the region setting of your drive? [y/n]:n


    With only one last change to change it, there was no room to play anymore, so I wanted to change it back to region 0

    anco@anco-HP-Desktop:~$ regionset
    regionset version 0.1 -- reads/sets region code on DVD drives
    Current Region Code settings:
    RPC Phase: II
    type: LAST CHANCE
    vendor resets available: 4
    user controlled changes resets available: 1
    drive plays discs from region(s): 1, mask=0xFE

    Would you like to change the region setting of your drive? [y/n]:y
    Enter the new region number for your drive [1..8]:0
    New mask: 0x00, correct? [y/n]:y
    ERROR: Region code could not be set!

    What the heck, now I got a little sweaty....I want my region 0 back!!!
    Mmm let's give it another try. Put back a region 0 dvd in my drive.

    anco@anco-HP-Desktop:~$ regionset
    regionset version 0.1 -- reads/sets region code on DVD drives
    ERROR: Could not open disc "(null)"!
    Please ensure there is a readable CD or DVD in the drive.

    Oops too anxious to get it quickly going, wait for the dvddrive to recognise the disc.....

    anco@anco-HP-Desktop:~$ regionset
    regionset version 0.1 -- reads/sets region code on DVD drives
    Current Region Code settings:
    RPC Phase: II
    type: LAST CHANCE
    vendor resets available: 4
    user controlled changes resets available: 1
    drive plays discs from region(s): 1, mask=0xFE

    Would you like to change the region setting of your drive? [y/n]:y
    Enter the new region number for your drive [1..8]:0
    New mask: 0x00, correct? [y/n]:y
    Region code set successfully!

    Pfew luckily it worked!!! Let's check one more time.

    anco@anco-HP-Desktop:~$ regionset
    regionset version 0.1 -- reads/sets region code on DVD drives
    Current Region Code settings:
    RPC Phase: II
    type: PERMANENT
    vendor resets available: 4
    user controlled changes resets available: 0
    drive plays discs from region(s): 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8, mask=0x00

    Would you like to change the region setting of your drive? [y/n]:n
    anco@anco-HP-Desktop:~$

    You can see no more changes left and it is permanently region 0 now.. And yes I can indeed copy my region 0, 1, 2 dvd's I have no other dvd's than these 3 regions.

    Thank you regionset programmers.. In the past I had to reflash the dvd drives with rpc1 or rpc2 firmwares. This time I was lucky on this liteon drive.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Lancashire
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Karmic cant play region 1 DVDs?

    This is very interesting.
    Strange that nobody else has tried it.

    Kudos


    But it didn't work for me!
    regionset version 0.1 -- reads/sets region code on DVD drives
    Current Region Code settings:
    RPC Phase: II
    type: NONE
    vendor resets available: 4
    user controlled changes resets available: 5
    drive plays discs from region(s):, mask=0xFF

    Would you like to change the region setting of your drive? [y/n]:y
    Enter the new region number for your drive [1..8]:0
    New mask: 0x00, correct? [y/n]:y
    ERROR: Region code could not be set!
    Last edited by ron999; January 18th, 2010 at 12:42 AM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •