Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: How do i use xmonad on gnome?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Beans
    304
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    How do i use xmonad on gnome?

    Instructions in here appear to be outdated/wrong...

    http://www.haskell.org/haskellwiki/X...#Ubuntu_Karmic

    There's no entry called 'gnome-wm' in the start up applications menu.

    So, how do i disable metacity and replace it with xmonad instead.

    Just so i can backup my configurations. Where are the start up apps configurations saved. I guess the answer would be something like 'in gconf'. So, to be clear: which file must i backup if i want to mess around with the start up apps in a way that my DE gets unusable?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Beans
    17
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Thumbs up Re: How do i use xmonad on gnome?

    Yes most documentations are confusing!

    I made the following:

    1. Install xmonad with all dependences. This is done
    automatically, if you use synaptic package manager.

    2. Create directory .xmonad, i.e. mkdir ~/.xmoand

    3. Create file "xmoand.hs" in ~/.xmonad

    4. Put the following into that file with your favorite editor (e.g. vim ~/.xmonad/xmonad.hs):
    import XMonad
    import XMonad.Config.Gnome

    main = xmonad $ gnomeConfig

    5. To test it, open terminal and type "killall metacity ; xmonad &"
    Note that if you close that terminal you will turn off xmonad.

    6. use mod-<num> to change workspaces, mod-shift-enter to open new terminal, mod-q to recompile it...
    mod stays for left alt key.

    7. If you like it edit the following file:
    "~/.gconf/desktop/gnome/session/required_components/%gconf.xml"
    by replacing metacity in the line <stringvalue>metacity</stringvalue>
    by xmonad

    Next time you log in (Gnome session) you should have xmonad working
    Edit: Oh and I did this on Ubuntu Karmic (9.10)

    Cheers.
    Last edited by semperfizh; December 7th, 2009 at 04:46 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Beans
    304
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: How do i use xmonad on gnome?

    Thank you semperfizh.
    Nice to see some straight forward information.

    I'll get back as soon as i try it out.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Beans
    17
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: How do i use xmonad on gnome?

    Anytime; hope it is going to work.

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Beans
    304
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: How do i use xmonad on gnome?

    wow! it works like a charm. It feels like having the best of both worlds, pretty much all gnome functionality is till there, plus xmonad awsomeness.

    I'm loving it, i am defenatly keeping this configuration and recomend it to whomever wants to put a high gear in his/hers productivity on gnome.


    I need to make fine adjustments now to fulfill my personal preferences.
    Any suggestions on some reading on xmonad configuration?

    Is it possible to define extra costumized tilling algorithms?

    In case somebody walks the same path, this cheat is a big help:
    Code:
    mod-shift-return      launch a term
    mod-p 	              launch dmenu
    mod-space 	      cycle through available layout algorithms
    mod-c 	              kill a client window
    mod-j 	              move focus to the next window on the screen (also mod-tab)
    mod-k 	              move focus to the previous window
    mod-return 	      swap current window, with window in master pane
    mod-shift-j 	      swap current window with its next neighbour
    mod-shift-k 	      swap current window with its previous neighbour
    mod-h 	              shrink the size of the master pane
    mod-l 	              grow the size of the master pane
    mod-comma 	      move clients into the master pane
    mod-period 	      move clients out of the master pane
    mod-q 	              dynamically reload xmonad, with a new configuration
    mod-shift-q 	      quit xmonad
    mod-1 .. 9 	      move to workspace ("virtual desktop"/"window group") number
    'n'
    mod-shift- 1 .. 9     move current client to workspace number 'n'
    mod- w,e,r            move to Xinerama screens 1, 2 or 3.
    mod-r                 launch gmrun

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: How do i use xmonad on gnome?

    There is a graphic cheat sheet for XMonad here on the XMonad wiki.

    XMonad is a weird beast for configuration (for me, probably not helped by not knowing haskell!) but I've found the best way for figuring out how to get certain bits to work is looking at other peoples configs. A good first step is the step-by-step guide to a basic configuration on the XMonad site. Also looking at the other configurations on that site is helpful. There are a number of other places for peoples configurations around the 'net as well such as this thread in the Arch Linux forums, and of course there is always the official documentation and references.
    Desktop: Phenom 955 BE | GA-MA790XT-UD4P | 8GB TG Elite 1600 | BFG GTX 275
    Conky Screenshots | Last.fm | New to Ubuntu?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Beans
    17
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: How do i use xmonad on gnome?

    Quote Originally Posted by pedrotuga View Post
    wow! it works like a charm. It feels like having the best of both worlds, pretty much all gnome functionality is till there, plus xmonad awsomeness.
    Thats what I am talking about!

    Quote Originally Posted by pedrotuga View Post
    Is it possible to define extra costumized tilling algorithms?
    Dont quite understand your question.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Beans
    304
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: How do i use xmonad on gnome?

    Quote Originally Posted by semperfizh View Post
    Dont quite understand your question.
    When i start up my computer, after opening a few wintows, xmonad tiles them using the default geometry (aka tilling algorithm). I would like to tune it a bit to define another geometry. For example, making the main area a bit bigger than half the screen.

    Also, when I press mod+space, xmonad rotates through three different geometries. How do add more geometries or remove existent ones?

    I am also considering rearranging my keybinds to use Ctrl and Alt insteaf of Alt and Shift.

    I guess all this should be doable.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Beans
    17
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: How do i use xmonad on gnome?

    Quote Originally Posted by pedrotuga View Post
    When i start up my computer, after opening a few wintows, xmonad tiles them using the default geometry (aka tilling algorithm). I would like to tune it a bit to define another geometry. For example, making the main area a bit bigger than half the screen.

    Also, when I press mod+space, xmonad rotates through three different geometries. How do add more geometries or remove existent ones?

    I am also considering rearranging my keybinds to use Ctrl and Alt insteaf of Alt and Shift.:
    How about this for key bindings. You should probably replace
    "defaultConfig" by "gnomeConfig". Didnt test it, googled it:

    Editing key bindings

    Editing key bindings means changing the XMonad.Core.XConfig.keys field of the XMonad.Core.XConfig record used by xmonad. For example, you could write:
    import XMonad

    main = xmonad $ defaultConfig { keys = myKeys }
    and provide an appropriate definition of myKeys, such as:
    myKeys conf@(XConfig {XMonad.modMask = modm}) =
    [ ((modm, xK_F12), xmonadPrompt defaultXPConfig)
    , ((modm, xK_F3 ), shellPrompt defaultXPConfig)
    ]
    This particular definition also requires importing XMonad.Prompt, XMonad.Prompt.Shell, and XMonad.Prompt.XMonad:
    import XMonadPrompt
    import ... -- and so on
    For a list of the names of particular keys (such as xK_F12, and so on), see http://hackage.haskell.org/packages/...X11-Types.html
    Usually, rather than completely redefining the key bindings, as we did above, we want to simply add some new bindings and/or remove existing ones.
    Last edited by semperfizh; December 13th, 2009 at 02:01 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Beans
    304
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: How do i use xmonad on gnome?

    meh... too tricky for a simple configuration. I think I'll stick with the default keybind map. I ended up getting used to it anyway, it's easy to memorize. But thank you.

    There are some minor glitches:
    -the mouse pointer shows in busy state each time I hover a gnome panel or some other kind of widgets which I don't remember ATM.
    -some windows like firefox js popups and others, show in a floating layer, i don't know so well how to manage those. sometimes they just get on the way.

    Apart from those, it's rather easy to use, though i would only recommend it to ppl with a large screen.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •