Thread: wired internet issues 9.10

Beans

wired internet issues 9.10

Hey all,

I'm trying to get my folks' internet issues sorted out. I just did a fresh install of 9.10 and a fresh update of firefox to 3.5

They've been having issues with the wired connection through a Belkin Wireless G router for some time. My son's macbook connects no problem through the wireless signal and he has fast speed, but the wired connection is really, really slow. When I swicth to a direct connection without the router, it's as fast as it should be.

I tried disabling IPv6 as per another thread, but that didn't seem to make a difference. It seems there might just be a configuration problem with the router.

I'm not a novice, but certainly no expert either. Any ideas?

Beans

Re: wired internet issues 9.10

The easiest way to check it is to reset the router to factory defaults, by pressing and holding the reset button for ~30 seconds. You'll have to reset everything afterwards, but it shouldn't be too painful. The main things you'll need to change are the password and the wireless security settings. It might be a faulty router, but it's impossible to diagnose without more information. The default username and password for Belkin routers is freely available on the internet.

Beans

I tried that numerous times and it hasn't worked yet. I have to keep plugging in directly to check the forums. I thought that by typing in the IP address into the browser window would allow me to look at the configuration of the router when it's plugged in, but that doesn't seem to work, either.

what additional information would you need? If the router were faulty, wouldn't that impede the wireless signal too?

Beans

Angry Re: wired internet issues 9.10

Ok, so, I have been working with this all day and I think I have some solutions and I also have some new questions.