Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 41

Thread: [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    1

    Re: [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

    When I type the commands in step 1 of post 1 I don't get a display called VGA1 or anything like that - I just get "default". Do I therefore use "default" in all of the commands shown in post 1? I am having difficulty getting 1024x768 res on a new Ubuntu install. This PC is also running Win7 (beta) which is able to run 1024x768 without problems on the same hardware so there shouldn't be an issue with capabilities.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sri Lanka
    Beans
    31
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

    you should use default
    I've mentioned about this in my post.
    Last edited by sharaq; February 3rd, 2010 at 03:27 PM.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    LILBURN, GEORGIA, USA
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

    Greetings --

    I've been beating the web up on this one and found this thread this weekend. I have worked through all the steps detailed but still no joy in acheiving 1680x1050. Here's what I've done thus far:

    1. Installed Nvidia restricted drivers as recommended but machine will not boot to GUI
    (During boot the Ubuntu logo appears but screen goes black before desktop occurs and looses signal)
    2. I can successfully access console so that at least works -- rm xorg.conf from last step & 9.10 boots
    3. Following steps 1-4 all worked fine...here is the output of my modeline:

    # 1680x1050 59.95 Hz (CVT 1.76MA) hsync: 65.29 kHz; pclk: 146.25 MHz
    Modeline "1680x1050_60.00" 146.25 1680 1784 1960 2240 1050 1053 1059 1089 -hsync +vsyn

    4. On Step#5 I hit a snag...not allowed to peform the following:

    $xrandr --output default --mode 1680x1050_60.00
    All I get is an error stating that the values are outside of limits (not those words - didn't jot down that error message -- sorry).

    5. Gnome is processing the gdm file as I can create a file that is not there on boot
    6. Although after doing all of the above steps I can force 1680x1050 to show in Display Preferences I cannot select it. Doing so yields this error:

    "The selected configuration for displays could not be spplied could not set the configuration for CRTC 99"

    System information follows: AMD X2 4200+ (Manchester)/Asus A8N/2G/250G/1TB w/dual NVIDIA 6800 GS (not-SLI enabled at this time) w/single 20" X20G-Naga III WSXGA monitor (1680x1050 59Hz 65KHz native resolution and vertical/horizontal freq.) My monitor through all of this returns as "Unknown"

    More digging has found the following:

    1. X.Org X Server 1.6.4 (2009-9-27)
    2. X Protocol (v11R0)
    3. Linux build is 2.6.24-23-server i686 Ubuntu
    4. xorg-server 2:1.6.4-2ubuntu4.1 (buildd@)

    After installing the restricted 185 driver I get the following errors:

    1. the xorg.conf file generated by the installation of the 185 driver induces the error:
    "DefaultDepth not valid keyword"
    2. "Fatal server error - no screens found"
    3. "failed to initialize GLX extension (Compativle NVIDIA X driver not found)"
    4. "open /dev/fb0 (no such file or directory"
    5. I have to rm the xorg.conf file to boot to GUI and have tried this wilth even the latest d/l's from NV

    I have tried to do as NV suggests in error messages and ran "nvidia-xconfig --mode-1680x1050" which will create a new xorg.conf file but always end with a loss of signal to monitor while booting to GUI and am forced to kill the machine and reboot to console to rm the xorg.conf file just created.

    My questions are this...is 9.10KK simply unable to "understand" my monitor? I had assumed that all my messing around porked the installation so I did backups and reinstalled but no joy...still doesn't work.

    In the hopes this thread is still being monitored I'd be ever so appreciative to have a helping hand in getting my 16:10 back. I can't take Windows for another day!! : )
    Last edited by RRF2525; February 22nd, 2010 at 04:03 PM. Reason: incomplete

  4. #24
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    31

    Re: [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

    I have the same problem. I followed your steps and nothing happened. I did it a second time and nothing happened. xrandr shows an output of 1024x768. This is also in modeline. After step 4 (I think) it says res. should change, it didn't. When I reboot it goes into low graphics mode. A report says the res is 1024x768. why can't i change this??

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

    Well, doesnt work with me.
    I use nvidia driver. My LCD monitor (Daewoo HL711S) is able to use 1280x1024 but the max I get now is only 1024x768.

    The command xrand gives:

    eric@eric-desktop ~ $ xrandr
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 240, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
    default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
    1024x768 50.0*
    800x600 51.0 52.0 53.0
    680x384 54.0 55.0
    640x480 56.0
    576x432 57.0
    512x384 58.0
    400x300 59.0 60.0 61.0
    320x240 62.0


    If I type cvt 1280 1024 I see:

    eric@eric-desktop ~ $ cvt 1280 1024
    # 1280x1024 59.89 Hz (CVT 1.31M4) hsync: 63.67 kHz; pclk: 109.00 MHz
    Modeline "1280x1024_60.00" 109.00 1280 1368 1496 1712 1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync

    Then, you say: xrandr --newmode Modeline "1280x1024_60.00" 109.00 1280 1368 1496 1712 1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync

    and I get this:

    eric@eric-desktop ~ $ xrandr --newmode Modeline "1280x1024_60.00" 109.00 1280 1368 1496 1712 1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync
    usage: xrandr [options]
    where options are:
    -display <display> or -d <display>
    -help
    -o <normal,inverted,left,right,0,1,2,3>
    or --orientation <normal,inverted,left,right,0,1,2,3>
    -q or --query
    -s <size>/<width>x<height> or --size <size>/<width>x<height>
    -r <rate> or --rate <rate> or --refresh <rate>
    -v or --version
    -x (reflect in x)
    -y (reflect in y)
    --screen <screen>
    --verbose
    --dryrun
    --nograb
    --prop or --properties
    --fb <width>x<height>
    --fbmm <width>x<height>
    --dpi <dpi>/<output>
    --output <output>
    --auto
    --mode <mode>
    --preferred
    --pos <x>x<y>
    --rate <rate> or --refresh <rate>
    --reflect normal,x,y,xy
    --rotate normal,inverted,left,right
    --left-of <output>
    --right-of <output>
    --above <output>
    --below <output>
    --same-as <output>
    --set <property> <value>
    --scale <x>x<y>
    --transform <a>,<b>,<c>,<d>,<e>,<f>,<g>,<h>,<i>
    --off
    --crtc <crtc>
    --panning <w>x<h>[+<x>+<y>[/<track:w>x<h>+<x>+<y>[/<border:l>/<t>/<r>/<b>]]]
    --gamma <r>:<g>:<b>
    --primary
    --noprimary
    --newmode <name> <clock MHz>
    <hdisp> <hsync-start> <hsync-end> <htotal>
    <vdisp> <vsync-start> <vsync-end> <vtotal>
    [+HSync] [-HSync] [+VSync] [-VSync]
    --rmmode <name>
    --addmode <output> <name>
    --delmode <output> <name>


    What is wrong???

  6. #26
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sri Lanka
    Beans
    31
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

    if u are using nvidia drivers try to install the drivers using envyng...

    using synaptic install envyng-core

    then in a terminal type

    Code:
    sudo envyng -t
    and uninstall any nvidia drivers installed and reinstall using envyng

  7. #27
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    12

    Talking Re: [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

    worked!

    I have a dell inspiron 1545 with external monitor in docking station. The laptop display was working fine but external monitor wasn't configured and resolved to ugly 1024x768 lowres.

    I applied this change, including the update to /etc/gdm/Init/Default to make it permanent, now I can boot using laptop display or external monitor and it's perfect (just like the windoze resolution from before)

    thanks so much for posting your solution sharaq!

  8. #28
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    12

    Re: [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

    I just got this to work for 1280x1024, you have the right info, just check the command syntax, use xrandr --newmode to create a new named mode using the output from cvt 1280 1024, afterward reference the named mode in the --addmode and --output commands



    QUOTE=Neo40;8892389]Well, doesnt work with me.
    I use nvidia driver. My LCD monitor (Daewoo HL711S) is able to use 1280x1024 but the max I get now is only 1024x768.

    The command xrand gives:

    eric@eric-desktop ~ $ xrandr
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 240, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
    default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
    1024x768 50.0*
    800x600 51.0 52.0 53.0
    680x384 54.0 55.0
    640x480 56.0
    576x432 57.0
    512x384 58.0
    400x300 59.0 60.0 61.0
    320x240 62.0


    If I type cvt 1280 1024 I see:

    eric@eric-desktop ~ $ cvt 1280 1024
    # 1280x1024 59.89 Hz (CVT 1.31M4) hsync: 63.67 kHz; pclk: 109.00 MHz
    Modeline "1280x1024_60.00" 109.00 1280 1368 1496 1712 1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync

    Then, you say: xrandr --newmode Modeline "1280x1024_60.00" 109.00 1280 1368 1496 1712 1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync

    and I get this:

    eric@eric-desktop ~ $ xrandr --newmode Modeline "1280x1024_60.00" 109.00 1280 1368 1496 1712 1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync
    usage: xrandr [options]
    where options are:
    -display <display> or -d <display>
    -help
    -o <normal,inverted,left,right,0,1,2,3>
    or --orientation <normal,inverted,left,right,0,1,2,3>
    -q or --query
    -s <size>/<width>x<height> or --size <size>/<width>x<height>
    -r <rate> or --rate <rate> or --refresh <rate>
    -v or --version
    -x (reflect in x)
    -y (reflect in y)
    --screen <screen>
    --verbose
    --dryrun
    --nograb
    --prop or --properties
    --fb <width>x<height>
    --fbmm <width>x<height>
    --dpi <dpi>/<output>
    --output <output>
    --auto
    --mode <mode>
    --preferred
    --pos <x>x<y>
    --rate <rate> or --refresh <rate>
    --reflect normal,x,y,xy
    --rotate normal,inverted,left,right
    --left-of <output>
    --right-of <output>
    --above <output>
    --below <output>
    --same-as <output>
    --set <property> <value>
    --scale <x>x<y>
    --transform <a>,<b>,<c>,<d>,<e>,<f>,<g>,<h>,<i>
    --off
    --crtc <crtc>
    --panning <w>x<h>[+<x>+<y>[/<track:w>x<h>+<x>+<y>[/<border:l>/<t>/<r>/<b>]]]
    --gamma <r>:<g>:<b>
    --primary
    --noprimary
    --newmode <name> <clock MHz>
    <hdisp> <hsync-start> <hsync-end> <htotal>
    <vdisp> <vsync-start> <vsync-end> <vtotal>
    [+HSync] [-HSync] [+VSync] [-VSync]
    --rmmode <name>
    --addmode <output> <name>
    --delmode <output> <name>


    What is wrong???[/QUOTE]

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    44
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

    Then, you say: xrandr --newmode Modeline "1280x1024_60.00" 109.00 1280 1368 1496 1712 1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync

    that is wrong, it should be

    Code:
    xrandr --newmode 1280x1024 109.00 1280 1368 1496 1712 1024 1027 1034 1063
    then

    Code:
    xrandr --addmode VGA-0 1280x1024
    remember to change "VGA-O" to your correct outuput, you can get this with:

    Code:
    xrandr

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    3

    Re: [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

    Anyone can help me to progress here please ? i am stuck since 5 days on this :

    I just installed the latest ubuntu 10.04 on a Toshiba-Tecra having "Trident Microsystems Cyberblade XP4m32" Monitor. After install resolution is defaulted to 800x600. I followed steps 1 to 4 above to increase the size (my laptop works with 1024x768 under XP). This was done OK and I obtained the resolution 1024X768 appearing in the drop list resolution options of the Monitor preferences but when I select the option if fails, or when I execute step 5
    $ xrandr --output default --mode 1024x768_60.00
    i got the message "xrandr : screen cannot be larger than 800x600 (desired size 1034X768)

    when I re-execute the same command, I have "xrandr : Configure crtc 0 failed"

    I saw a possible fix proposing to add
    HorizSync 31.50-48.00
    in Xorg.conf but I have no such a file in my /etc/x11/ or anywhere else in my installation ! (supposing that this will fix my problem !!!)

    Thanks to help me to progress

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •