Thread: Hauppauge HD-PVR Install Question

Beans

Hauppauge HD-PVR Install Question

Santa gave me an HD-PVR! But I'm confused by this part of the instructions on http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Hauppauge_HD-PVR :

Note: As of Linux Kernel 2.6.30 the driver for the HD-PVR is now included by default. No compiling of the driver will be necessary assuming you have compiled the driver into the kernel.
    "No compiling of the driver will be necessary assuming you have compiled the driver" ????

I'm running 2.6.31-16-generic...do I need to compile anything?

Cheers.
    Last edited by yonkiman; December 31st, 2009 at 03:00 AM. Reason: Fixed typo in title

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Re: Hauppauge HD-PVR Install Question

Were you able to get your HD-PVR to work?
    I'm just a Windows admin in a Linux world...

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by jquintana View Post
    Were you able to get your HD-PVR to work
    Yes! I just tried it and it basically worked immediately. The main thing that took a bit of time to work out was using mythchanger to change the channels of the HD-PVR over firewire, but ultimately, once I'd compiled the latest mythchanger, even that was as simple as putting "mythchanger - c " in the appropriate box of mythbackend-setup.

One thing I haven't seen people mention before is how incredibly good the HD-PVR hardware is. I was pretty dismayed to have to use this solution - the idea of the program arriving as compressed digital, being decompressed and converted to analog component video, then being converted back to digital and recompressed sounded terrible to me. There are all sorts of analog errors and compression artifacts that could (and I expected some would) be introduced.