Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 60

Thread: "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    4

    Smile "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

    Team,

    Issue: Display preferences shows "Unknown Monitor" and I can't increase resolution above 800x600.

    System and Hardware details:
    Ubuntu : v9.10
    Motherboard : Asus P5KPL-AM/PS
    Display Driver: Intel Corporation 82G33/G31 Express Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:29c2] (rev 10)

    Details: the resolution i am using is too small. i want to increase the resolution. when i am pressing the "Detect Monitors" it shows "unknown Monitor" also the resolution is restricted to 800x600.

    I am a first time user of Linux. Thanks to Ubuntu team for wonderful OS. Please let know what i have to do. i Googled a lot on "intel G33 driver for linux", "Unknown Monitor" on Ubuntu/Google webiste but believe could not find the right solution.

    i think Ubuntu v9.10 already provides the Intel G33 display driver because i was downloading/installing something and it said "Error: the later version is already installed".

    If i need to download/install something request to provide step/by/step procedure. Because yet i am not able to understand from where/how to install make/compile code. where to place the downloaded files etc.

    Thanks / Regards,
    AJ

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Beans
    29,420

    Re: "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

    What kind of monitor do you have, CRT or LCD? What's the size and resolution of it?
    In the world of Linux, who needs Windows and Gates...

    Got most of my golden beans at an auction on eBay (with a couple of free drinks).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    4

    Re: "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

    Monitor Details:
    Manufacturer: DAEWOO 431X
    Type : CRT
    i can set normally 1280x1024 resolution. i think its 14".

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Beans
    29,420

    Re: "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

    Is this your monitor?

    http://www3.dealtime.com/xPF-Daewoo-431X-14-in

    You have the wrong resolution there since according to the link, the max is 1024 x 768.
    In the world of Linux, who needs Windows and Gates...

    Got most of my golden beans at an auction on eBay (with a couple of free drinks).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    4

    Re: "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

    Yes Taurus, this is the one i am using. sorry for the incorrect resolution earlier.

    Please refer attached screencap of 'Display Preferences' it shows a maximum of 800x600.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sri Lanka
    Beans
    31
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

    First open a terminal
    Applications >> Accesories >> Terminal
    in the terminal type :
    1)
    Code:
     $ xrandr
    (without the $ mark)
    this will display the allowed resolutions
    something like this :

    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1024 x 768, maximum 4096 x 4096
    VGA1 connected 800x600+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 267mm x 200mm
    800x600 85.1* +
    640x480 75.0 60.0
    720x400 70.1
    then type
    2)
    Code:
     $ cvt 1024 768
    (any resolution that you want similar to this)

    the output will be similar to this :
    # 1024x768 59.92 Hz (CVT 0.79M3) hsync: 47.82 kHz; pclk: 63.50 MHz
    Modeline "1024x768_60.00" 63.50 1024 1072 1176 1328 768 771 775 798 -hsync +vsync

    3)
    Code:
     $ xrandr --newmode <Modeline>
    (copy the modeline of the previous output to the place mode line)
    for example :
    Code:
    $ xrandr --newmode "1024x768_60.00"   63.50  1024 1072 1176 1328  768 771 775 798 -hsync +vsync
    4)
    Code:
    $ xrandr --addmode VGA1 1024x768_60.00
    (here for VGA1 you have to use what ever that was there for $ xrandr output in step 1)

    5)
    Code:
     $xrandr --output VGA1 --mode 1024x768_60.00 
    (replace VGA1 accordingly, remember to use the numbers within inverted commas in step 3 , after --newmode for 1024x768_60.00 )

    ***Running these would change your resolution but this is temporary.these steps were done to make sure that these commands work . After step 5 you should see the resolution change.If this is successful proceed to the next step

    6)
    Code:
    $ sudo gedit /etc/gdm/Init/Default
    (this will ask for your root password type the password and a text editor will appear)
    in this you will see a text line like this
    PATH=/usr/bin:$PATH
    OLD_IFS=$IFS
    just below this paste the step 3 to 5 commands
    and then save it.

    example :
    #!/bin/sh
    # Stolen from the debian kdm setup, aren't I sneaky
    # Plus a lot of fun stuff added
    # -George

    PATH=/usr/bin:$PATH
    OLD_IFS=$IFS
    xrandr --newmode "1024x768" 70.00 1024 1072 1176 1328 768 771 775 798 -hsync +vsync

    xrandr --addmode VGA1 1024x768_60.00

    xrandr --output VGA1 --mode 1024x768


    if [ -x '/usr/bin/xsplash' ];

    then
    /usr/bin/xsplash --gdm-session --daemon
    this worked in karmic ......I think this will be helpful to you if you want know more about xrandr

    If step 6 isn't working then read this post by mpatrick
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1364460&page=5
    Thank you mpatrick..
    Last edited by sharaq; January 29th, 2010 at 02:34 PM. Reason: the work around proposed by mpatrick is added......

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    4

    Re: "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

    It worked!!!

    Thanks a lot sharaq. only thing i changed in step 4
    xrandr --addmode VGA1 1024x768


    to
    xrandr --addmode VGA1 1024x768_60.00

    Thanks again sharaq and taurus. the monitor still shows "unknown" but i am happy with 1024x768 resolution

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sri Lanka
    Beans
    31
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

    if you want you can change the refresh rate to a much higher value if you want, may be 70.00or something... it is better for you eyes.... to do that just change the values 60.00

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Thames:New Zealand
    Beans
    201
    Distro
    Ubuntu Breezy 5.10

    Re: "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

    Hello, I have the same 800x600 problem. I followed your advice to stage 3 and got this reply:-
    X Error of failed request: BadName (named color or font does not exist)
    Major opcode of failed request: 149 (RANDR)
    Minor opcode of failed request: 16 (RRCreateMode)
    Serial number of failed request: 21
    Current serial number in output stream: 21
    If you can help in any way I'd be very grateful
    Thankyou.......sarum

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sri Lanka
    Beans
    31
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

    what is the operating system you are using? is it ubuntu 5.10??
    I've used this in 9.10..

    if you miss out any part of the output it gives this error message(which you have copied from the step 2)recheck it. I think you have missed the last part of it ,most likely, the part in bold letters.
    $ xrandr --newmode "1024x768_60.00" 63.50 1024 1072 1176 1328 768 771 775 798 -hsync +vsync
    hope this will help you....

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •