Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 60

Thread: "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    4

    Smile "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

    Team,

    Issue: Display preferences shows "Unknown Monitor" and I can't increase resolution above 800x600.

    System and Hardware details:
    Ubuntu : v9.10
    Motherboard : Asus P5KPL-AM/PS
    Display Driver: Intel Corporation 82G33/G31 Express Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:29c2] (rev 10)

    Details: the resolution i am using is too small. i want to increase the resolution. when i am pressing the "Detect Monitors" it shows "unknown Monitor" also the resolution is restricted to 800x600.

    I am a first time user of Linux. Thanks to Ubuntu team for wonderful OS. Please let know what i have to do. i Googled a lot on "intel G33 driver for linux", "Unknown Monitor" on Ubuntu/Google webiste but believe could not find the right solution.

    i think Ubuntu v9.10 already provides the Intel G33 display driver because i was downloading/installing something and it said "Error: the later version is already installed".

    If i need to download/install something request to provide step/by/step procedure. Because yet i am not able to understand from where/how to install make/compile code. where to place the downloaded files etc.

    Thanks / Regards,
    AJ

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Beans
    29,420

    Re: "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

    What kind of monitor do you have, CRT or LCD? What's the size and resolution of it?
    In the world of Linux, who needs Windows and Gates...

    Got most of my golden beans at an auction on eBay (with a couple of free drinks).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    4

    Re: "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

    Monitor Details:
    Manufacturer: DAEWOO 431X
    Type : CRT
    i can set normally 1280x1024 resolution. i think its 14".

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Beans
    29,420

    Re: "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

    Is this your monitor?

    http://www3.dealtime.com/xPF-Daewoo-431X-14-in

    You have the wrong resolution there since according to the link, the max is 1024 x 768.
    In the world of Linux, who needs Windows and Gates...

    Got most of my golden beans at an auction on eBay (with a couple of free drinks).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    4

    Re: "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

    Yes Taurus, this is the one i am using. sorry for the incorrect resolution earlier.

    Please refer attached screencap of 'Display Preferences' it shows a maximum of 800x600.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sri Lanka
    Beans
    31
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

    First open a terminal
    Applications >> Accesories >> Terminal
    in the terminal type :
    1)
    Code:
     $ xrandr
    (without the $ mark)
    this will display the allowed resolutions
    something like this :

    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1024 x 768, maximum 4096 x 4096
    VGA1 connected 800x600+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 267mm x 200mm
    800x600 85.1* +
    640x480 75.0 60.0
    720x400 70.1
    then type
    2)
    Code:
     $ cvt 1024 768
    (any resolution that you want similar to this)

    the output will be similar to this :
    # 1024x768 59.92 Hz (CVT 0.79M3) hsync: 47.82 kHz; pclk: 63.50 MHz
    Modeline "1024x768_60.00" 63.50 1024 1072 1176 1328 768 771 775 798 -hsync +vsync

    3)
    Code:
     $ xrandr --newmode <Modeline>
    (copy the modeline of the previous output to the place mode line)
    for example :
    Code:
    $ xrandr --newmode "1024x768_60.00"   63.50  1024 1072 1176 1328  768 771 775 798 -hsync +vsync
    4)
    Code:
    $ xrandr --addmode VGA1 1024x768_60.00
    (here for VGA1 you have to use what ever that was there for $ xrandr output in step 1)

    5)
    Code:
     $xrandr --output VGA1 --mode 1024x768_60.00 
    (replace VGA1 accordingly, remember to use the numbers within inverted commas in step 3 , after --newmode for 1024x768_60.00 )

    ***Running these would change your resolution but this is temporary.these steps were done to make sure that these commands work . After step 5 you should see the resolution change.If this is successful proceed to the next step

    6)
    Code:
    $ sudo gedit /etc/gdm/Init/Default
    (this will ask for your root password type the password and a text editor will appear)
    in this you will see a text line like this
    PATH=/usr/bin:$PATH
    OLD_IFS=$IFS
    just below this paste the step 3 to 5 commands
    and then save it.

    example :
    #!/bin/sh
    # Stolen from the debian kdm setup, aren't I sneaky
    # Plus a lot of fun stuff added
    # -George

    PATH=/usr/bin:$PATH
    OLD_IFS=$IFS
    xrandr --newmode "1024x768" 70.00 1024 1072 1176 1328 768 771 775 798 -hsync +vsync

    xrandr --addmode VGA1 1024x768_60.00

    xrandr --output VGA1 --mode 1024x768


    if [ -x '/usr/bin/xsplash' ];

    then
    /usr/bin/xsplash --gdm-session --daemon
    this worked in karmic ......I think this will be helpful to you if you want know more about xrandr

    If step 6 isn't working then read this post by mpatrick
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1364460&page=5
    Thank you mpatrick..
    Last edited by sharaq; January 29th, 2010 at 02:34 PM. Reason: the work around proposed by mpatrick is added......

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    3

    Re: "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

    Hello, I only got to the third step: xrandr --newmode &quot;1368x768_60.00&quot; 85.25 1368 1440 1576 1784 768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync

    where it writes:
    Error of failed request:
    BadName (named color or font does not exist)
    Major opcode of failed request: 152 (RANDR)
    Minor opcode of failed request: 16 ()
    Serial number of failed request: 13
    Current serial number in output stream: 13
    I have the Intel GMA X4500 card, might this be the problem? I have heard the card acts up.
    I have kubuntu 8.10 Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    3

    Thumbs down Re: "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

    Why do we have to go to hell and back to get our monitors supported resolution to work in Ubuntu?

    I have tried all of this
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...83&postcount=6
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1364460&page=5
    And then I have no idea whats going on with this.
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1370258&page=2

    Which is fricken crazy!!! For the life of me I cannot get 1280x1024 to be activated on login.

    This is just nuts.

    Words cannot even describe how stupid this is.

    What is the matter with ubuntu and resolutions? It is gonna cause me to have a Heart Attack.

    I officially give up trying for the sake of my Heart!!!!!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    3

    Thumbs down Re: "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

    Below helped me out and actually worked.
    http://www.linuxreaders.com/2009/11/...10-resolution/

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    248
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: "Unknown Monitor" and cant increase resolution beyoud 800x600

    Quote Originally Posted by Jarvus View Post
    Why do we have to go to hell and back to get our monitors supported resolution to work in Ubuntu?

    I have tried all of this
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...83&postcount=6
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1364460&page=5
    And then I have no idea whats going on with this.
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1370258&page=2

    Which is fricken crazy!!! For the life of me I cannot get 1280x1024 to be activated on login.

    This is just nuts.

    Words cannot even describe how stupid this is.

    What is the matter with ubuntu and resolutions? It is gonna cause me to have a Heart Attack.

    I officially give up trying for the sake of my Heart!!!!!!
    In the 10 years I have been using Linux, this is the one problem that has plagued almost every single install. Why this doesn't get fixed is beyond me. I don't even care about 3D acceleration or anything fancy, I just want the basic HD resolutions to work right out of the box with any graphics card. In Windows I can pick modes that the monitors can't handle, in Linux I can't use th resolutions that the monitor should be using.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •