Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Not entirely sure if Im adding new hdd properly

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    113

    Question Not entirely sure if Im adding new hdd properly

    Hi, Im adding a new HDD using this tutorial - https://help.ubuntu.com/community/In...gANewHardDrive

    Seems all is well, seems.

    My drive was sdc so I used that, which is fine.

    When it came to using this this line in the tutorial:

    Code:
    sudo mkfs -t ext3 /dev/sdc1
    I just dont get it. I used:

    Code:
    sudo mkfs -t ext3 /dev/sdc
    Because I have no idea where the '1' comes from.

    It gave me a warning about it using the whole device. When I went to

    Code:
    sudo lshw -C disk
    again, there was still no '1' showing on it. Can someone please tell me the relevance of the '1' and what I can type in to actually see it labelled as that. Should I do it again and use the '1'?
    Someday something constructive will go here.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Beans
    40

    Re: Not entirely sure if Im adding new hdd properly

    the one is just to say the first partition on the drive I believe. yes use the 1.
    Last edited by lunaparadox; December 19th, 2009 at 12:44 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    1,081

    Re: Not entirely sure if Im adding new hdd properly

    Yes.

    /dev/sdX is a whole device.
    /dev/sdXn is partition n on drive sdX.

    What you want to do is ensure that your partition table on /dev/sdc looks how you want it to, and THEN build filesystems on the partition(s). What you've already done has probably already scrambled the partition table, so you might have to use something like 'cfdisk -z' to ignore the scrambled one.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    113

    Re: Not entirely sure if Im adding new hdd properly

    Are there any commands I can use to see the disks I have with their partitions?
    Someday something constructive will go here.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    1,081

    Re: Not entirely sure if Im adding new hdd properly

    sudo fdisk -l

    should list partition tables for each drive.


    sudo fdisk /dev/sdc

    for that particular drive (and 'p' to show partition table, etc).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    113

    Re: Not entirely sure if Im adding new hdd properly

    OK, I can see the differences in them now, I really appreciate the help on this.

    Disk /dev/sda: 30.7 GB, 30738677760 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 3737 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x000a2d0e

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 3577 28732221 83 Linux
    /dev/sda2 3578 3737 1285200 5 Extended
    /dev/sda5 3578 3737 1285168+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris

    Disk /dev/sdb: 250.0 GB, 250059350016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xe38e7838

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 1 30401 244196001 5 Extended
    /dev/sdb5 1 30401 244195969+ 83 Linux

    Disk /dev/sdc: 1500.3 GB, 1500301910016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 182401 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000


    First disk is the OS, second where I download to and share and 3rd is going to be where I backup everything. I'll be sharing that too.

    Just going back through the steps now I can see whats going on.


    I went to go and mount it and I get this for my current config in fstab:

    Code:
    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
    proc            /proc           proc    defaults        0       0
    # /dev/sda1
    UUID=aa29596c-f8fa-4815-8760-4e5c9085f5c6 /               ext3    relatime,erro$
    # /dev/sda5
    UUID=6b280dbc-b787-44e6-987f-fd76c92e6986 none            swap    sw           $
    /dev/scd0       /media/cdrom0   udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0       0
    
    
    /dev/sdb5       /shared         ext3    defaults        0       0
    Why have I mounted sdb5 instead of sdb1 for my second hdd? Its been a year or so since I done it and I lost all my notes when I killed my other hdd ... so I have no idea why ...
    Last edited by cackles; December 19th, 2009 at 01:33 AM.
    Someday something constructive will go here.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •