Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: QUESTION REGARDING GRUB AND MULTIPLE UBUNTU LISTINGS [1st time user]

Beans

Question QUESTION REGARDING GRUB AND MULTIPLE UBUNTU LISTINGS [1st time user]

Question Regarding Grub [1st days using Ubuntu]

Cheers,

I'm new to this cool OS an the forums and I must say I am digging it so far from what I've seen.

I tried to search for my question but I couldn't find at a glance so maybe someone could help me out it's really general I'm sure here it is:

Basically after I installed Ubuntu on a partition (25GB) on my PC alongside my Windows XP partition (125GB) Everything was working great and I could boot both OS's from the Grub no problem.

It's only after that I updated Ubuntu that I know seem to have 2 versions showing up on the GRUB loader where before I only had 1. It really doesn't bother me much as I just use the top listing but I would like to know if it is possible to only have 1 listing of Ubuntu show alongside my windows XP listing on the boot loader.

I've attached the pic of what the GRUB looks like when I boot up, you will notice the 2 Ubuntu listings and the XP one at the bottom.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Beans

Re: QUESTION REGARDING GRUB AND MULTIPLE UBUNTU LISTINGS [1st time user]

Your kernel was updated so now it list the previous kernel which is good in case the new kernel failed. If the new kernel is fine, then in synaptic, search for linux-image, and choose to uninstall the old kernel. After, run sudo update-grub in a terminal to remove it from the grub menu.
    good luck

darco
    Reason: no beans

Beans

so that's all there is to it.. what would happen if i chose to boot from the old kernel? will it add a new one after every update?

appreciate it, tks!
    Last edited by rustyfenix; December 15th, 2009 at 07:41 AM.

scouser73 is offline Iced Blended Vanilla Crème Ubuntu
    Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish