Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Cairo-dock with OpenGL

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    1,348
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Cairo-dock with OpenGL

    I wouldn't mind running Cairo-Dock under OpenGL, but if I do certain icons disappear & so does the Cairo-Clock that I have on the desktop. It could be down to the graphics card that I am running. NVidia Geforce4 MX440.
    I have attached a screen shot to show what I mean.
    Cairo-dock runs fine if I do not use OpenGL. Any ideas.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Registered Linux user #475388
    Using Various flavours of Linux: Ubuntu 10.04, Linux Mint 6, Mandriva, OpenSuse.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    1,348
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Cairo-dock with OpenGL

    Any ideas?
    Registered Linux user #475388
    Using Various flavours of Linux: Ubuntu 10.04, Linux Mint 6, Mandriva, OpenSuse.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Saddleworth (UK)
    Beans
    784
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Cairo-dock with OpenGL

    No answer for you Kestrel 1 but I've been using Cairo for a while now and like it a lot!

    I don't use OpenGL, I don't want or need the extra graphical effects. I find the dock is quick and efficient as it is.
    Alan

    Saddleworth, Manchester (UK).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    1,348
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Cairo-dock with OpenGL

    This is true. I like the dock, so if I can't find a solution I will still use it.
    Cheers
    Registered Linux user #475388
    Using Various flavours of Linux: Ubuntu 10.04, Linux Mint 6, Mandriva, OpenSuse.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    1,183
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Cairo-dock with OpenGL

    Hello,

    if you use cairo-dock with openGL, you can monitor your pc and see how much cpu it costs. Since this card is old enough, I guess that your pc is old enough as well. So in order to support such a feature it takes a lot of resources. In other words: I do not think that this card and this pc is capable enough to "hold" cairo with opengl.

    I have heard that for new systems this is consuming as well. Yet, you never know. If you find something, let us know.

    Regards!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Saddleworth (UK)
    Beans
    784
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Cairo-dock with OpenGL

    As an addition to my original comment.

    I have the Cairo System Monitor running in the dock WITHOUT OpenGL. Looking at it as I'm typing this message, the CPU is running between 0.5% and 3.2% so the overhead is low with Fire Fox open. If I run the cursor up and down the dock a few times....

    1) Just because I can!

    2) Just because it looks cool!

    CPU utilisation will go up to about 45% for a second or two. Loading FF will take the CPU up to about 50% but my average idle time while browsing is normally way less than 10%.

    That's on Karmic 9.10 with the Mac4Lin theme installed as shown in the screen shot below. Note CPU rose to 22% whilst doing the snap shot!

    I'm also connected to Mobile Broadband, via Bluetooth and my Nokia Navigator mobile phone....why pay £15 per month for a "dongle"!!!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Alan

    Saddleworth, Manchester (UK).

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    36

    Re: Cairo-dock with OpenGL

    I have seen this a couple of times with cairo. Out of the 30 or so installs it has always been with a video card with low amounts of RAM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    1,085

    Re: Cairo-dock with OpenGL

    I think that a GeForce4 is too old to run GLX-dock.
    not because it uses a lot the graphic card, but because the NVidia drivers for this card don't support OpenGL correctly.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    1,348
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Cairo-dock with OpenGL

    Thanks, I did think that might be the case. I will have to wait until I can afford a better rig then.
    Registered Linux user #475388
    Using Various flavours of Linux: Ubuntu 10.04, Linux Mint 6, Mandriva, OpenSuse.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •