Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: All permissions seemingly denied.

Beans

All permissions seemingly denied.

I'm completely new to Ubuntu and linux/unix/open source operating systems/etc. and am having some difficulty getting acclimated. Is this a good place to ask questions? For one thing, I am unable to install any plugins. Permissions are denied. Secondly, drivers give me a similar issue. I'm trying to access my wireless router using wifi, but Ubuntu does not recognise my wireless card though it did when I was using the live CD. Problem is, though, it won't let me install the drivers necessary. Also, when installing Adobe flash, it refuses to do so. When I try to manually move the necessary flash plugin to the proper folder, it also refuses. What gives?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

Re: All permissions seemingly denied.

Quote Originally Posted by zezuza View Post
    Is this a good place to ask questions?
    It certainly is

Regarding your wifi drivers, check System > Admin > Hardware drivers and install anything it recommends.

On Ubuntu, we get our software from secure central repositories, not from websites like you do on Windows.

For Flash, go to Applications > Ubuntu Software Centre and search for "restrcited extras" and install it. As for you plugins, plugins for what exactly?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

You won't be able to install any packages (e.g. Flash) unless you have a working internet connection, which I assume you don't since your wireless isn't working. Which wifi card do you have?

Anytime you want to install programs or drivers etc., you need to do so as root or admin. See https://help.ubuntu.com/9.10/add-app...s/C/index.html

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Check these out:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SoftwareManagement
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UsingTheTerminal
    https://help.ubuntu.com/9.10/add-app...s/C/index.html