Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Eject Button Not Working

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Eject Button Not Working

I have a Dell Studio 1555 notebook with slot load optical drive. the eject button is a key on the main keyboard. (see attached pic)
    The key worked OK for a couple of days after install. It did not work at all in Jaunty. However, today it stopped working altogether. xev does not map it so I am forced to use a custom shortcut( super+e). Is there a way to patch this problem as I have decided to use Ubuntu as my mainstream OS and I would really like it if my laptop was fully functional.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Beans

Re: Eject Button Not Working

same issue! i am new to linux altogether so i dont even know how to configure shortcuts as
    you did! my only way is to rightclick on the mounted image of the cd/dvd then eject.
    any help?
    thnx in advance

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Usually when Linux is using the CD drive it won't "let go" of the drive, and so pushing the button does nothing.

Try going to Places > Computer and right clicking the drive and selecting "unmount" or try running the command "umount -a" which will automatically unmount everything not required for the system to run.

After your sure the drive is unmounted, try ejecting the disk again. I've had this problem lots of times and I finally figured out it was because Linux was still using the drive -_-
    Can't sleep.....must....compile......kernel.........

Beans
    Distro

I have a Dell Precision M90 that I just fitted a slot drive to. I have the same issue, and the 'unmount first' workaround fixes the problem. But I never had this problem with the previous drive which is of the drawer type. I thought ejecting unmounted it first?

EDIT: If I right click and select eject without unmounting first, it does eject. In fact, every eject method works (without unmounting) except the keyboard shortcut.