Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: AMR-WB Codec

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Kosmos
    Beans
    142

    Question AMR-WB Codec

    Hi,
    i am trying to change a codec on a movie, but appearently i am missing a codec to the movie.
    Its a amr-wb codec. How do i get this codec so i can work on the movie?
    I tried already to follow a guide (HOWTO: Install and use the latest FFmpeg and x264 - Ubuntu Forums ) and to recompile ffmpeg, but i still don't have the codec.
    also i am missing AC3. what a bummer.
    Using Karmic 64bit.

    I forgot to mention that i am using Avidemux. Its only in that program, in the player they work but i need to convert them so i can play them on the xbox.
    Last edited by yester64; November 17th, 2009 at 05:18 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    7,230

    Re: AMR-WB Codec

    Hi yester,

    Quote Originally Posted by yester64 View Post
    i am trying to change a codec on a movie, but appearently i am missing a codec to the movie. Its a amr-wb codec. How do i get this codec so i can work on the movie? I tried already to follow a guide (HOWTO: Install and use the latest FFmpeg and x264 - Ubuntu Forums ) and to recompile ffmpeg, but i still don't have the codec.
    I believe that FakeOutdoorsman is working on an update that will include the libopencore-amr libraries so perhaps a post to his guide might give you an advance preview of the upcoming work?

    All the best,

    Andrew
    You think that's air you're breathing now?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Kosmos
    Beans
    142

    Re: AMR-WB Codec

    I just have to clarify that it appears to be a avidemux problem. At least so i am guessing.
    In a videoplayer the files play, but once you want to load it into avidemux it says that it does not have the codec, or more precise that 'a' codec is missing.

    So strange. The only reason why i mentioned the codec amr-wb is that it shows up under properties in avidemux.

    I will keep an eye on that.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    14,332

    Re: AMR-WB Codec

    I believe avidemux uses it's own ffmpeg libraries, if so, then amr support probably isn't enabled in them.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    7,230

    Re: AMR-WB Codec

    Hi yester64,

    Quote Originally Posted by yester64 View Post
    I just have to clarify that it appears to be a avidemux problem. [...] The only reason why i mentioned the codec amr-wb is that it shows up under properties in avidemux.
    Oops, my apologies for misunderstanding your question .

    Andrew
    You think that's air you're breathing now?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Kosmos
    Beans
    142

    Re: AMR-WB Codec


    no problem. Since i can't figure out what the error really is i try a different program out.
    I am trying it now with Live.

    btw. i checked the forum and it says something about using older versions. mmm..
    if it does use its own libraries than that is kinda bad. I checked that as well, but haven't gotten positiv results. Such a shame, since its a nice program.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    7,230

    Re: AMR-WB Codec

    Hi yester64,

    Quote Originally Posted by yester64 View Post
    btw. i checked the forum and it says something about using older versions. mmm..
    Looks like the newest version 2.5.1 supports amr decoding:

    http://fixounet.free.fr/avidemux/news.html#2009-08-16

    * AMR-WB audio decoding support using opencore-amrwb
    Might be worth a look?

    Andrew
    You think that's air you're breathing now?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Kosmos
    Beans
    142

    Re: AMR-WB Codec

    Quote Originally Posted by andrew.46 View Post
    Hi yester64,



    Looks like the newest version 2.5.1 supports amr decoding:

    http://fixounet.free.fr/avidemux/news.html#2009-08-16



    Might be worth a look?

    Andrew

    Mm.. i checked my version (karmic) and its 2.5.1. So in theory it should have it. then i checked in the plugins and it is not present.
    under Audio: LibMad, LibAC3, Faad2 & libVorbis
    and under Audio Decoder: MP2 LavCodec, Faac AAC, Lame MP3, Vorbis, PCM, AC3, TwoLame MP2

    Mm.. i am just getting into all that. I have to check their forum again. Perhaps i have to download it from their website.

    Thx for the tip

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    7,230

    Re: AMR-WB Codec

    Hi yester64,

    Quote Originally Posted by yester64 View Post
    Mm.. i checked my version (karmic) and its 2.5.1. So in theory it should have it. then i checked in the plugins and it is not present.
    Looks like the packagers have removed it:

    Code:
    avidemux (1:2.5.0-0.0ubuntu1) karmic; urgency=low
    
      * Merge with debian-multimedia, Ubuntu remaining changes:
        - debian/{control,rules}:
          + Drop ccache support.
      * Remove libopencore-amrnb-dev build-dependency.
      * Refresh avidemux-compile.patch.
    Well, that solves the mystery, the solution would be to repackage the program and restore the libopencore-amrnb-dev build dependency. Do you have any experience with this?

    Andrew
    You think that's air you're breathing now?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Kosmos
    Beans
    142

    Re: AMR-WB Codec

    Quote Originally Posted by andrew.46 View Post
    Hi yester64,



    Looks like the packagers have removed it:
    [snip]Andrew
    Not really, but i have to get into it anyway. So i rather learn it now.
    btw. is there any lecture you can recommend for deeper linux know how. I got me awhile back 'Beginnig Linux' which was ok but did not deep enough.
    I like to learn more do all these things. My plan was to master linux

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •