Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 48

Thread: Thinkpad T60 volume buttons in 9.04 and 9.10

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    1

    Re: Thinkpad T60 volume buttons in 9.04 and 9.10

    Quote Originally Posted by rCXer View Post
    Wow that's brilliant! The notification wasn't working for me and your method worked I had to become root by "sudo -i". Otherwise I got "permission denied"...

    Code:
    sudo -i
    sudo echo enable,0x00ffffff > /proc/acpi/ibm/hotkey
    This has been a long-standing bug on thinkpads and this might be the workaround needed. Since you discovered this, could you post your solution in the bug report in the link? I'm sure they'll appreciate it. Thanks!
    This workaround works on my T43p / Ubuntu 9.10 too. Thanks!

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    49
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Thinkpad T60 volume buttons in 9.04 and 9.10

    For me, the following worked:

    Code:
    cp /sys/devices/platform/thinkpad_acpi/hotkey_all_mask /sys/devices/platform/thinkpad_acpi/hotkey_mask
    That is, once running this I got the controls and the indications. Both for the audio and for the brightness. But, once I restart I have to re-run the line above. How can I add it into the load sequence of the system, so I won't have to do it manually every time?

    I'm running 9.10 on thinkpad R50e.

    Thanks in advance,
    Dror

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    1

    Re: Thinkpad T60 volume buttons in 9.04 and 9.10

    Quote Originally Posted by juhaszjozsef View Post
    Hi all.
    9.10 karmic: (using sysfs):
    Code:
    sudo cp /sys/devices/platform/thinkpad_acpi/hotkey_all_mask /sys/devices/platform/thinkpad_acpi/hotkey_mask
    This doesn't completely working on Karmic.
    After reboot, the default hotkey_mask is restored and the screen indication is not working again.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Beans
    124

    Re: Thinkpad T60 volume buttons in 9.04 and 9.10

    ditto. the fix works until reboot - how do you set this command to passively run during startup?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Beans
    54
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Thinkpad T60 volume buttons in 9.04 and 9.10

    Hi, i am new to this Ubuntu and anyway, i am using a Lenovo w500, quite a lot of things not working in place. And yes, the mute button for me isn't working properly, firstly when i press mute, it mutes but the notifications doesn't indicate that and when i press mute the second time, still no sound untill i press vol up or vol down then i get my sound bad.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Beans
    15

    Re: Thinkpad T60 volume buttons in 9.04 and 9.10

    This probably isn't the best way to accomplish this but I added

    cp /sys/devices/platform/thinkpad_acpi/hotkey_all_mask /sys/devices/platform/thinkpad_acpi/hotkey_mask

    to /etc/rc.local

    This works for me on my T60 running 9.10.

    Good luck and thanks to juhaszjozsef for figuring out the solution.

    Scott

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    49
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Thinkpad T60 volume buttons in 9.04 and 9.10

    I can confirm - Seems like scoot1212's solutions works for me as well - for Thinkpad R50e.

    UPDATE: I'm afraid that after reboot, things went wrong again.
    Last edited by drorata; December 31st, 2009 at 12:00 PM.

  8. #18

    Re: Thinkpad T60 volume buttons in 9.04 and 9.10

    Seems unlikely that the volume buttons wouldn't work on such a relatively new Thinkpad. But downloading the Thinkpad special button program through the repository should do the trick. (tpb-0.6.4-2.3ubuntu1).

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    3

    Re: Thinkpad T60 volume buttons in 9.04 and 9.10

    Quote Originally Posted by juhaszjozsef View Post
    Hi all.

    Code:
    sudo cp /sys/devices/platform/thinkpad_acpi/hotkey_all_mask /sys/devices/platform/thinkpad_acpi/hotkey_mask
    Please confirm if the solution works on other thikpad models.
    Hi!

    Just want to confirm that that exactly this code worked on my Thinkpad T43p, running 9.10.

    Thanks!

    -lars

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    49
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Thinkpad T60 volume buttons in 9.04 and 9.10

    When applied manually it works perfectly. By manually, I mean invoking the command in console.

    I tried to use the solution suggested by scoot1212, but it doesn't work.

    How can one add such a line to the loading-up sequence of the system so it will be a default. Without the need to run it manually.

    Thanks and have a nice day,
    Dror

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •