Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What's the best way to learn C?

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 6.10 Edgy

What's the best way to learn C?

I'm really interested in learning just C before I go onto C++, so that I have a better background on the whole language. I have some experience in Java and VB so I understand most of the OO concepts. Any suggestions of books or websites would be appreciated. I learned most of my Java from Sun's Beginner documentation so anything along those lines I find myself to be comfortable with.

Beans

Re: What's the best way to learn C?

Learn C is not the path to C++. The languages share nothing in common besides some syntax.

Just learn C++. Thinking in C++ is available for free online, but I really recommend Accelerated C++ for a book.

Beans
    Distro
    Dapper Drake Testing/

I agree. The problem with C++ for most people is to "forget" how they used to program in C and adapt to the OO way of thinking. If learning C++ is your goal, then start with C++. I'd say that it's not more difficult than C, just different (and in a lot of ways easier, actually).

If you really want to learn another language before starting with C++, I think Java is a much better choice.
    Software Failure. Press left mouse button to continue.
    Guru Meditation #00000000.48454C50

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

Another vote to learn C++ not C if C++ is your destination.

I also recommend "Accelerated C++" by Koenig and Moo.
    ACCU - for programmers who care

Beans

C is a wonderful language to learn for its own merit. But if you want to learn C only so that it would help you to learn C++, then I suggest you start with C++ directly.
    To understand recursion you must understand recursion

http://krishnamurthy.net.in

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 6.10 Edgy