Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to watch TV on Ubuntu?

Beans

How to watch TV on Ubuntu?

Hello, just switched from windows to Ubuntu 9.1 today. So, I am a complete noob. I need some pointers on how to set up a tuner card. I have a Hauppauge HVR-1600 and previously used it to watch TV with Windows Media Center with Comcast's QAM signal. I have spent a few nights looking for a solid "How To" but I am not finding anything that is on my level. The easier the better. I don't care if it records even.

Any tips would be appreciated. Again, my experience level with linux is less than one week. Location USA.
    Last edited by goatgonads; November 13th, 2009 at 04:07 AM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Re: How to watch TV on Ubuntu?

Have a look for tutorial on installing mythtv or try
    sudo apt-get install dvb-utils
    and install mplayer or vlc (this might be better)

The hardware should be supported in version 9.10 of ubuntu.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

You might want to check out Me-TV https://launchpad.net/me-tv

It works well for me as a lightweight TV player using my Hauppauge WinTV Nova-HD-S2 card.

As of Karmic its in the universe repository.

Beans

I tinkered with MythTV for an afternoon, I couldn't get it set up correctly. I just tried Me-TV and got the following: MythTV seems to take a PHD to set up.

Me-TV produced the following error: Failed to scan: scanning is only supported for DVB-T, DVB-S and DVB-C devices

I am not very knowledgable on the subject, but isn't USA ATSC? I tried all of the available lists included with the package, and got the same errors.
    Last edited by goatgonads; November 14th, 2009 at 12:38 AM.

Beans

Beans

I got MythTV to play channels, it doesn't seem to be quite what I wanted. Kaffeine seems to be what I am looking for. It shows my tuner, but does not come up with any channels when it scans.

Beans