Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: GRUB2 and windows 7

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Malaysia
    Beans
    280
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    GRUB2 and windows 7

    Hi, I installed Windows 7 32bit on a 320gb disk, and then ubuntu on a separate disk.

    Grub2 didn't have a default entry for windows 7, I had to make one. I try to boot to windows, it says bootmgr missing.

    I tried using the windows dvd to go to command prompt and run bootrec /fixboot and /fixmbr. First the setup didn't recognize the freshly installed OS, secondly /fixboot didn't work, only /fixmbr worked.

    Still, I can't get into windows, I get the same bootmgr missing error.

    My windows is on /dev/sda1

    My Ubuntu is on /dev/sdb2

    I created the script under /etc/grub.d/ set root = (hd0,1)

    Code:
    oj@oj-desktop:~$ cat /etc/grub.d/11_windows7 
    #!/bin/sh -e
    echo "Adding Windows 7">&2
    cat <<EOF
    menuentry "Windows 7" {
    insmod ntfs
    insmod chain
    insmod drivemap
    set root=(hd0,1)
    drivemap -s (hd0) (hd1)
    chainloader +1
    
    }
    EOF
    Still I can't boot into windows, there is a bootmgr file in C:\Windows\Boot\PCAT folder I don't know why windows is unable to load.

    Anyone please suggest what I should do?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    1,610
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: GRUB2 and windows 7

    Something else is wrong.

    9.10 will add Windows 7 partitions without any help from you, assuming that it can find a Windows 7 partition, which it apparently doesn't on your system.

    I have Win7 on four systems that have Karmic and all four work just fine after grub2 automatically found and added them.

    Here are the 'Other' OS entries from the generated /boot/grub/grub.cfg for this box:
    Code:
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
    menuentry "Windows Vista (loader) (on /dev/sda2)" {
    	saved_entry=${chosen}
    	save_env saved_entry
    	insmod ntfs
    	set root=(hd0,2)
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 8a2e59bf2e59a4cb
    	chainloader +1
    }
    menuentry "Windows 7 (loader) (on /dev/sdb1)" {
    	saved_entry=${chosen}
    	save_env saved_entry
    	insmod ntfs
    	set root=(hd1,1)
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set e0d4a286d4a25e92
    	chainloader +1
    }
    menuentry "CentOS release 5.3 (Final) (on /dev/sdc1)" {
    	saved_entry=${chosen}
    	save_env saved_entry
    	insmod ext2
    	set root=(hd2,1)
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set c6257793-7912-491e-a623-0dc30ad23394
    	linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.18-128.el5 root=/dev/sdc1
    }
    menuentry "Microsoft Windows XP Professional (on /dev/sdd1)" {
    	saved_entry=${chosen}
    	save_env saved_entry
    	insmod ntfs
    	set root=(hd3,1)
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 646cc6dc6cc6a85e
    	drivemap -s (hd0) ${root}
    	chainloader +1
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
    sı ɯǝ1qoɹd ɹnoʎ ʇɐɥʍ ǝǝs ı ʞuıɥʇ ı

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Malaysia
    Beans
    280
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: GRUB2 and windows 7

    I think so you're right about not being able to see Windows 7 partition.

    Even in the windows dvd setup recovery, it could not locate my windows 7 partition.

    But I just installed it the same day and rebooted a couple of times because I was installing drivers and everything was fine.

    What can I do? Should I reinstall win7 while ubuntu is on another disk?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    1,610
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: GRUB2 and windows 7

    It's difficult to diagnose via a forum: there are many things that can go wrong, and only one way for them to go right...

    I would look at BIOS setup for the disks. If you have the ability to choose between AHCI and IDE access methods, you should set that to "IDE". If it's already set to IDE, then I have no idea what went wrong.

    I suspect that the shortest path is to reinstall Win7 and follow the usual procedure for re-writing the MBR with grub.

    I would also remove any changes you made to the grub config, because grub2 knows all about Windows 7.
    sı ɯǝ1qoɹd ɹnoʎ ʇɐɥʍ ǝǝs ı ʞuıɥʇ ı

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Malaysia
    Beans
    280
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: GRUB2 and windows 7

    so how do i reinstall grub2 with the live cd?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    1,610
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: GRUB2 and windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by psycho5 View Post
    so how do i reinstall grub2 with the live cd?
    Boot into "Try it" mode.

    Bring up a terminal window and enter the following commands
    Code:
    sudo bash # DANGEROUS! ENTER COMMANDS EXACTLY!
    mount /dev/sdb2 /mnt
    mount -o bind /proc /mnt/proc
    mount -o bind /dev /mnt/dev
    chroot /mnt bash
    update-grub
    grub-install /dev/sda
    exit
    exit
    All done.
    sı ɯǝ1qoɹd ɹnoʎ ʇɐɥʍ ǝǝs ı ʞuıɥʇ ı

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Malaysia
    Beans
    280
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: GRUB2 and windows 7

    Thanks, I'll try it after I reinstall Win7. Thankfully it was a near-fresh install won't take long to configure it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Beans
    23
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: GRUB2 and windows 7

    Look at this - http://erickoo.wordpress.com/2009/06...-karmic-koala/

    I tried it yesterday and it worked perfectly for me.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    IIT Kanpur
    Beans
    346
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GRUB2 and windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by Giblet5 View Post
    Boot into "Try it" mode.

    Bring up a terminal window and enter the following commands
    Code:
    sudo bash # DANGEROUS! ENTER COMMANDS EXACTLY!
    mount /dev/sdb2 /mnt
    mount -o bind /proc /mnt/proc
    mount -o bind /dev /mnt/dev
    chroot /mnt bash
    update-grub
    grub-install /dev/sda
    exit
    exit
    All done.
    I am thinking of kicking Vista out of my dual boot laptop( with Karmic and Grub2 ). I want to install Win7 on the Vista drive. Will the above commands be sufficient for me to restore the Grub2 menu or is there anything else I need to do as I don't want to reinstall Karmic and I want to use Grub 2.
    P.S.: I'll be installing Win7 from a DVD after formatting Vista drive so tell me if I need to do anything special.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Beans
    23

    Re: GRUB2 and windows 7

    I have an AMD Phenom II X4, I have two sata hard drives and a sata dvd drive. If I set my drives up in IDE mode in the bios Grub2 installs fine but if I have them set to AHCI mode grub will not install to the mbr. I'm not using my drives for any kind of raid but am confused as to whether running them in ide mode is slower with sata drives or not. Should I be using them in IDE mode? The only way I can use Grub2 is to install it to a USB flash drive or I have to use regular grub. Can someone help me? Oh and I guess I should tell you I have Windows 7 installed to sda1 and ubuntu installed to sdb1.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •