Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: ATI problem 5770 HD My screen says out of range

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    6

    Red face ATI problem 5770 HD My screen says out of range

    After upgrading to ATi 5770 HD RAndeon on Ubuntu 9.10 and installing the fglrx close source drivers.When booting and the splash screen is supposed to show my screen blacks out and says OUt of range ....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Beans
    1
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: ATI problem 5770 HD My screen says out of range

    mmm yes... I've seen this problem before. Yesterday. At your house

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    1
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: ATI problem 5770 HD My screen says out of range

    I feel really sad to hear this as I am orders this graphic card to go with my new i7

    I hope there will soon be a problem because I would like to try out this new ubuntu on my new machine

    Good luck and if anyone knowns anything about this issue please reply

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Porirua, New Zealand
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: ATI problem 5770 HD My screen says out of range

    Was this an update via update manager or a clean install?

    If an update, and you didn't update grub to grub2, there's a setting in menu.lst somewhere that might be of help... give me a moment, I think there's a thread somewhere which touches on this.


    Edit: this might help if you're still using grub and not grub2: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...4&postcount=14

    Edit 2: Another option, that I've used myself with grub (NOT grub2) is to change the line in /boot/grub/menu.lst that reads:
    Code:
    # defoptions=quiet splash[/quote] to read [quote]# defoptions=quiet nosplash
    - if you choose this option, you'll need to save the file and then enter
    Code:
    sudo update-grub
    . Important: this suggestion is for grub, not the grub2 that is default for a clean install of 9.10
    Last edited by lisati; November 27th, 2009 at 12:10 AM.
    Forum DOs and DON'Ts
    Never assume that information you find using a search engine is up-to-date.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    6

    Re: ATI problem 5770 HD My screen says out of range

    it was a clean install..
    However from what I can tell I have grub 1.94 beta installed.
    how can I update to grub 2?
    and is it really necessary?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    3

    Re: ATI problem 5770 HD My screen says out of range

    You must change the display setting in control panel of the video-card driver program(like ATI catalyst control center)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    11,051

    Re: ATI problem 5770 HD My screen says out of range

    Did you install Catalyst 9-11? (the version that comes with Ubuntu is based off Cat. 9-10)

    Cat. 9-11 is the first AMD driver to properly support your card: http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...item&px=NzcxNA

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    6

    Re: ATI problem 5770 HD My screen says out of range

    i Try that driver but it say problem and can continue

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •