Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Xsane quits

Beans

Unhappy Xsane quits

I upgraded to Ubuntu 9.10 from 9.04 about two weeks ago. To date, I have had no issues. Today, I tried to scan a document with my HP Scanjet 3570c. This worked perfectly with Ubuntu 9.04. Now, XSane opens, I select the preview window, and select Acquire preview. The preview scan appears, and then XSane quits with no message.

I started the System Monitor, and then XSane. I saw the xsane process with a Waiting Channel of poll_schedule_timeout. When I chose Acquire preview, the Waiting Channel changed to pipe_wait. The staus was sleeping in both cases. Then the process disappears.

I tried scanning without a preview and got the same result.

Does anyone have any ideas? I am just learning my way around Linux, so I am unsure of how to get any additional information.

Beans

Re: Xsane quits

I've got the same problem with the same scanner, karmic from a fresh install.
    This is the output:
    Code:
    :~$ xsane
    WARNING: Unhandled message: interface=org.freedesktop.DBus.Introspectable, path=/, member=Introspect

(xsane:7979): Gtk-WARNING **: GtkSpinButton: setting an adjustment with non-zero page size is deprecated

(xsane:7979): Gtk-WARNING **: GtkSpinButton: setting an adjustment with non-zero page size is deprecated

first line is the more interesting, have you got the same line?

It seems sameway related to this bug:
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ne/+bug/446373
    No solution at this time...

Beans

I was having a similar problem with XSane yesterday. According to Oliver Rauch, the author of XSane, the SANE team has changed some things in the latest release of the backends that breaks compatibility. This was posted on the XSane web site in February...