Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: "switch user" button does not appear on lock screen anymore

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Beans
    10

    "switch user" button does not appear on lock screen anymore

    After upgrading from 9.04 to 9.10, the "Switch User" button disappeared from the lock screen. I am running gdm and kde.

    In v9.04, I could lock my screen and then another user could click the "Switch User" button. This button allowed them to choose a session to login to, or to start a new session.

    After upgrading to 9.10, this functionality has disappeared -- the button simply is not there. There is, however, a "switch user" button on the main menu. Howeer, when I click this button, it simply locks my screen. At this point, the user cannot login unless they know the current users password to unlock the screen.

    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    2

    Re: "switch user" button does not appear on lock screen anymore

    Same here. I installed the 9.10 Netbook Remix edition on my eeePC and when the screen is locked only the current user can unlock it. No chance to switch to another user.

    This is very bad as no other users can do anything including shutting down the machine.

    Any idea? Thanks a lot.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    3

    Re: "switch user" button does not appear on lock screen anymore

    I'm also having this issue. This is very frustrating because I want to be able to keep a couple programs running in the background and allow my roommate to use it at the same time.

    I might just have to go back to 9.04.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Beans
    10

    Re: "switch user" button does not appear on lock screen anymore

    is there an easy way to go back to 9.04?

    this bug makes this OS unsuitable for my family's needs...

    does anyone know how we can properly submit the bug to the developers?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    2

    Re: "switch user" button does not appear on lock screen anymore

    I have solved the issue for me!

    I installed the program "gconf-editor" and changed the following GNOME setting

    /apps/gnome-screensaver/user_switch_enabled

    to "TRUE".

    After that it worked without a problem

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Beans
    10

    Re: "switch user" button does not appear on lock screen anymore

    Quote Originally Posted by m0urs View Post
    I have solved the issue for me!

    I installed the program "gconf-editor" and changed the following GNOME setting

    /apps/gnome-screensaver/user_switch_enabled

    to "TRUE".

    After that it worked without a problem

    Mine was already set to TRUE. This did not solve my problem.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    2
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Angry Re: "switch user" button does not appear on lock screen anymore

    Quote Originally Posted by crazycatlady0 View Post
    Mine was already set to TRUE. This did not solve my problem.

    Same thing here. Changed the setting in all user accounts and still don't work. There are 6 people in my house and just 2 computers, we need the "switch user" a lot.
    Last edited by rfdias; November 22nd, 2009 at 10:44 PM. Reason: e-mail

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Beans
    10

    Re: "switch user" button does not appear on lock screen anymore

    I have switched to kdm and the switch user feature works now. There are a few other issues I had to resolve after switching to kdm.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    2
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: "switch user" button does not appear on lock screen anymore

    Solution found!

    Must correctly set

    /desktop/gnome/lockdown/disable_user_switching

    AND

    /apps/gnome-screensaver/user_switch_enabled

    "Switch user" button is back!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Beans
    227
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: "switch user" button does not appear on lock screen anymore

    Well in my case the problem is not that I don't have the button. I have the button there but when I click it the screen goes black. When I move the mouse then I get the same window thingy to unlock or switch user. If I finally unlock the screen then in the desktop I see some error messages "Unable to start new display. The name org.gnome.DisplayManager was not provided by any .service files" Oo

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •