Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How to configure Jack to work

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Beans
    178
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    How to configure Jack to work

    I have installed Ardour on Karmic, which brings with it Jack. Whenever I start Jack it automatically kills itself, with the following error
    Code:
    00:09:07.762 Patchbay deactivated.
    00:09:07.838 Statistics reset.
    00:09:07.893 ALSA connection graph change.
    00:09:08.114 ALSA connection change.
    00:09:10.773 Startup script...
    00:09:10.773 artsshell -q terminate
    sh: artsshell: not found
    00:09:11.175 Startup script terminated with exit status=32512.
    00:09:11.175 JACK is starting...
    00:09:11.177 /usr/bin/jackd -R -dalsa -dhw:0 -r44100 -p1024 -n2
    no message buffer overruns
    jackd 0.116.1
    Copyright 2001-2005 Paul Davis and others.
    jackd comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY
    This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it
    under certain conditions; see the file COPYING for details
    JACK compiled with System V SHM support.
    cannot use real-time scheduling (FIFO at priority 10) [for thread -1217055040, from thread -1217055040] (1: Operation not permitted)
    cannot create engine
    00:09:11.215 JACK was started with PID=23530.
    00:09:11.225 JACK was stopped successfully.
    00:09:11.225 Post-shutdown script...
    00:09:11.226 killall jackd
    jackd: no process found
    00:09:11.634 Post-shutdown script terminated with exit status=256.
    00:09:13.354 Could not connect to JACK server as client. - Overall operation failed. - Unable to connect to server. Please check the messages window for more info.
    I have jack installed but yet it still doesn't start. Does anyone know what settings I need to have in order to start jack?
    I'm on The Web | Flickr | tumblr
    My computer: Dell Studio 1555: Pentium Dual Core T4300(2.1GHz,800MHz,1MB), 4096MB 800MHz DDR2 Dual Channel, 512 MB ATI Mobility RADEON HD 4570
    Please don't send PM's asking for help. Use the forum instead

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Beans
    178
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to configure Jack to work

    *bump*

    Am I the only one with this problem?
    I'm on The Web | Flickr | tumblr
    My computer: Dell Studio 1555: Pentium Dual Core T4300(2.1GHz,800MHz,1MB), 4096MB 800MHz DDR2 Dual Channel, 512 MB ATI Mobility RADEON HD 4570
    Please don't send PM's asking for help. Use the forum instead

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    4,377
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: How to configure Jack to work

    If you have not also installed the rt kernel (linux-rt) then you cannot run jack in rt mode. You can deselect rt in the jack control setup.

    FYI. The multimedia production forum is a better place for questions about ardour, jack, recording. production, etc.
    PMs will be ignored.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    4

    Re: How to configure Jack to work

    You will have to disable or stop Pulse Audio for Jack to be able to start. The two both fight for use of ALSA devices and Jack just gives up. There are also some permissions that need to be setup that are listed in the Jack documentation.

    I managed to get Jack to work on Intrepid last year with a stock kernel (no RT). It will run fine like that for playing around but you will want the RT for any real performance type applications. I will go down that road again soon with Karmic (if it ever becomes a stable release like Intrepid is).

    In theory there is a way to get Jack and Pulseaudio to work together. There is a plugin for Pulse that allows it to interface to Jack. Ubuntu doesn't supply this but Debian does and it will install into Ubuntu. Google around with keywords Jack and Pulseaudio and it will come up. I tried this plugin but was never able to get them to work reliably together. For now I just kill the Pulse dameon if I need to use Jack.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Beans
    1

    Re: How to configure Jack to work

    I use Ubuntu Studio 10 or 12

    To start jack you must run it in a terminal with root-privileges:

    CTRL & ALT & T
    (opens the terminal)

    type:
    sudo -i
    (gets you root-privileges to your computer; be careful what you do, it could destroy a lot!!! Do nothing now, of what you are ABSOLUTELY sure!!!!)

    then type:
    qjackctl
    (starts jack. Now you can start it and it gets a connection)


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    14,628
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How to configure Jack to work

    Old thread closed!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •