Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25

Thread: Can't start Karmic Live CD: wrong resolution

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    551
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Can't start Karmic Live CD: wrong resolution

    About the boot options, did you try using the vga=xxx and check the chart for your resolution / colors

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    217

    Re: Can't start Karmic Live CD: wrong resolution

    Thanks t_e_r, but it didn't work.
    X still starts with a 2048x1536 which is out of range for my monitor.
    I can hear the login sound from the speakers, therefore the only problem really looks like the monitor resolution.
    If no one finds a solution, I guess I'll simply have to skip the Koala..

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    217

    Re: Can't start Karmic Live CD: wrong resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by RJ12 View Post
    About the boot options, did you try using the vga=xxx and check the chart for your resolution / colors
    If I'm not mistkaen, the vga=xxx option only sets the resolution for the framebuffer, and my problem only appears when X starts.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    217

    Re: Can't start Karmic Live CD: wrong resolution

    Any other ideas?
    This happens with Kubuntu too.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    xanthi,GREECE
    Beans
    20
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Can't start Karmic Live CD: wrong resolution

    I have the same problem"out of scan range"
    I want to run Karmic from live cd before installation
    No solution untill now.
    I will wait...........

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    217

    Re: Can't start Karmic Live CD: wrong resolution

    The problem is related to the nvidia graphic card. Basically the driver that the livecd uses does not work.
    I wonder if I could change the video card to a different one, install Karmic with that, then install the nvidia drivers even though the graphic card is not an nvidia, change graphic card back to my nvidia and launch karmic...
    Who knows if this would work?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    217

    Re: Can't start Karmic Live CD: wrong resolution

    Still no solution?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    4

    Re: Can't start Karmic Live CD: wrong resolution

    I also have the same problem... but it doest say anything about screen resolution it just goes black... but my video card is an ATI radeon 9800(not really sure but i know its not below 9500)... my monitor doesn't start but the kernel is running coz when i press the POWER button it exits and displays the "Press Enter to shutdown" message thingy...

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    217

    Re: Can't start Karmic Live CD: wrong resolution

    This is frustrating.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    4

    Re: Can't start Karmic Live CD: wrong resolution

    Try installing it in safe graphics mode... just press f4 and select the option... worked on mine... hope this helps

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •