Thread: A question about restoring from Clonezilla backup

Beans

A question about restoring from Clonezilla backup

Greetings,

I was wondering if anyone out there could give me some general advice about restoring from a clonezilla backup I made of my machine about 6 months ago.

Here's the situation: I am pretty sure I had upgraded to Intrepid, which I was running on a Dell XPS-M1330 laptop. I had to get rid of it in a hurry, so I backed it up using Clonezilla. The details are fuzzy about any specific choices I might have made during that backup, but I have notes somewhere. Now, I'd like to restore my backup. I'm still a newbie, and here's what I need to know: can I only restore the backup to a machine with the exact same hardware (ie, another xps-m1330? ).. or, can i get away with restoring it on a similiar/comprable machine, but slightly more affordable machine (like a desktop)?

I have a Pentium 4 acer desktop sitting around that I could try.. but, my *guess* is that that probably won't work, because P4 is a lot different than core 2 duo, right?

Any advice much appreciated

kind regards,
    lauren

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: A question about restoring from Clonezilla backup

I also use clonezilla and if you want, you can download to another computer. This should work, but never know till you try. Also I use the HDD to HDD option and not the image backup so don't know about that...

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: A question about restoring from Clonezilla backup

I have a hard drive that I some times put into other machines for troubleshooting types of things and normally it is able to boot in any computer I stick it in.

Also have upgraded motherboard/processors and what not many times with few issues.

Both of these things are similar to creating a clone from one system then restoring it to another.