Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Wireless not working (BCM4312)

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    58

    Re: Wireless not working (BCM4312)

    Quote Originally Posted by Ayuthia View Post
    Check and see if you have the following directory:
    Code:
    ls /var/lib/dkms/bcmwl
    If you do and it returns something like
    Code:
    5.10.91.9+bdcom
    Try the following:
    Code:
    sudo dkms build -m bcmwl -v 5.10.91.9+bdcom
    If that is successful try:
    Code:
    sudo dkms install -m bcmwl -v 5.10.91.9+bdcom
    The first dkms command will build the Broadcom kernel module and create the wl.ko. The second command will install it.

    Hope that helps.

    Well it worked!!!!

    But I did it a different way. I downloaded

    dpkg-dev (and some dependencies for it)

    http://packages.ubuntu.com/karmic/dpkg-dev

    http://packages.ubuntu.com/karmic/patch

    And then I ran

    sudo dpkg-reconfigure bcmwl-kernel-source
    And Then

    sudo modprobe -r b43 ssb wl
    sudo modprobe wl
    It finally worked.

    Thanks for all your help.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    3

    Smile Re: Wireless not working (BCM4312)

    Quote Originally Posted by kut77less View Post
    Well it worked!!!!

    But I did it a different way. I downloaded

    dpkg-dev (and some dependencies for it)

    http://packages.ubuntu.com/karmic/dpkg-dev

    http://packages.ubuntu.com/karmic/patch

    And then I ran



    And Then



    It finally worked.

    Thanks for all your help.
    I did in the same way and wireless works fine.

    Just reinstalling bcmwl42xx-kernel-source wasn't sufficient in my case. I had errors during the DKMS building operation.


  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    2

    Re: Wireless not working (BCM4312)

    dpkg-dev (and some dependencies for it)

    http://packages.ubuntu.com/karmic/dpkg-dev

    http://packages.ubuntu.com/karmic/patch

    And then I ran

    Quote:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure bcmwl-kernel-source
    And Then

    Quote:
    sudo modprobe -r b43 ssb wl
    sudo modprobe wl
    It finally worked.
    I am running a new Dell Studio 15 and this worked perfectly for me.

    However, I need to run the following each time I start my laptop:

    sudo dpkg-reconfigure bcmwl-kernel-source
    sudo modprobe -r b43 ssb wl
    sudo modprobe wl

    I'm a bit of a new to all this wireless stuff. Any idea why I have to do this each time I restart?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Mount Horeb, WI
    Beans
    4,312
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Wireless not working (BCM4312)

    Quote Originally Posted by rob81 View Post
    I am running a new Dell Studio 15 and this worked perfectly for me.

    However, I need to run the following each time I start my laptop:

    sudo dpkg-reconfigure bcmwl-kernel-source
    sudo modprobe -r b43 ssb wl
    sudo modprobe wl

    I'm a bit of a new to all this wireless stuff. Any idea why I have to do this each time I restart?
    You might try the following:
    Code:
    echo blacklist b43 | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
    echo blacklist ssb | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
    echo wl | sudo tee -a /etc/modules
    sudo update-initramfs -u
    This will prevent the b43 and ssb modules from loading and it will load the wl module. The update-initramfs will update the system boot information so that it will not try to load the b43 and ssb during the boot process.

    Hope that helps.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    2

    Re: Wireless not working (BCM4312)


    You might try the following:

    Code:

    echo blacklist b43 | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
    echo blacklist ssb | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
    echo wl | sudo tee -a /etc/modules
    sudo update-initramfs -u


    This will prevent the b43 and ssb modules from loading and it will load the wl module. The update-initramfs will update the system boot information so that it will not try to load the b43 and ssb during the boot process.

    Hope that helps.
    Thank you Ayuthia. This worked for me!

    Wireless was the only issue I had in setting up Ubuntu 9.10 on my Dell Studio 15. It is now running like a dream.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    1

    Re: Wireless not working (BCM4312)

    Hi all,
    thk for solutions.
    I applied your indication:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure bcmwl-kernel-source
    sudo modprobe -r b43 ssb wl
    sudo modprobe wl
    and the wlan started well....but i am not able to update the system boot information:

    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo update-initramfs -u
    update-initramfs: Generating /boot/initrd.img-2.6.31-14-generic
    cp: cannot stat `/vmlinuz': No such file or directory

    I thinks that's becouse i am using ubuntu booting from a usb pen whith persistent option, so vlinuz is
    in /cdrom/casper directory .
    I am new in linux so please what's the right command for me?
    thx a lot

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    3

    Re: Wireless not working (BCM4312)

    Unfortunately I tried all the different methods online including this one and still the wireless doesn't work on my hp mini.
    The wl is loaded fine, the STA Driver says active and in use and the wireless led is on.
    iwlist gives me an error... failed to read scan data, invalid argument when i do scan or scanning.
    I see this issue resolved in many places, but this is complete bs imo and all those ppl have it working on 9.04 not 9.10 and the rest of us just downgraded.
    this issue is still unresolved, just like all the other "solved" threads about this.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    380
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Wireless not working (BCM4312)

    With Lucid it works a treat.

    With Wubi, Live USB, or a true install, doesn't matter. And it's easy.

    Instructions at
    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Testing/Lapt...ucid%20Lynx%29

    On some machines it gives a DMA error.

    If it fails with another error rather than DMA, it is probably due to the dirt of previous hacking, in this case try with the Live USB to be sure.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •