Thread: Setting up domain.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

Talking Setting up domain.

Hey guys,

Ok here is my question. I am wanting to setup a domain controller/DNS/DHCP/VPN box for my house. I have the opportunity to get M$ server 2003 for free through my workplace. Since this is the first time I am attempting this what would be easier for me to setup. Ubuntu Server 8.04 or the M$ OS? Note: I am pretty new to Linux in general. What would you guys recommend?

Thanks for the help!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

Re: Setting up domain.

MS - it goes like this: "Next, next, OK, Finish, Reboot". And you don't even have to understand how it works
    Wer dämlich mit H schreibt ist nämlich!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Quote Originally Posted by H3l0 View Post
    Hey guys,

Ok here is my question. I am wanting to setup a domain controller/DNS/DHCP/VPN box for my house. I have the opportunity to get M$ server 2003 for free through my workplace. Since this is the first time I am attempting this what would be easier for me to setup. Ubuntu Server 8.04 or the M$ OS? Note: I am pretty new to Linux in general. What would you guys recommend?

Thanks for the help!
    Well although I would prefer linux server myself, it's much more easy to get it up and running with Microsoft.
    All the technology in linux exists but it has very very bad, incomplete out-of-date documentation. This really, really sucks!

You are about the tenth instance I've seen this year of people/organisations moving (or probably moving) to windows because of this. And I'm not even a people/organisation person

I would never go for the Microsoft solution but I have no trouble understanding why people would (taking the current state of documentation on open source alternatives).

The best documentation for open source tech I have found is:
    http://www.rrcomputerconsulting.com/...p?article_id=3
    It's very complete but its for ubuntu 7.10.