Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Conky problems

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Santa Clara, Utah
    Beans
    142
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Conky problems

    I installed Conky and I reboot but I can't find it anywhere. I go to System Tools and not there, tried adding it. Added it to Startup Applications and doesn't work either.

    In command I type 'Conky' and I get the message..

    Conky: use_spacer should have an argument of left, right, or none. 'yes' seems to be some form of 'true', so defaulting to right.
    Conky: forked to background, pid is 2673
    derek@derek-laptop:~$
    Conky: desktop window (20000a8) is subwindow of root window (6c)
    Conky: window type - override
    Conky: drawing to created window (0x4400001)
    Conky: drawing to double buffer
    Conky: obj->data.cpu_index 2 info.cpu_count 1
    Conky: attempting to use more CPUs than you have!
    Here's my output of .conkyrc (~)-gedit or 'gedit ~/.conkyrc'...

    Code:
    background yes
    use_xft yes
    xftfont DejaVu Sans Mono:size=8
    xftalpha 0.8
    out_to_console no
    update_interval 5.0
    total_run_times 0
    draw_shades no
    
    # Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus)
    own_window yes
    
    # If own_window is yes, you may use type normal, desktop or override
    own_window_type override
    
    # Use pseudo transparency with own_window?
    own_window_transparent yes
    
    double_buffer yes
    default_color 586F86
    color1 white
    alignment bottom_left
    gap_x 2
    gap_y 2
    #no_buffers yes
    use_spacer yes
    
    TEXT
    $nodename:${color1}$kernel${color} up:${color1}$uptime${color} cpu1:${color1}${cpu cpu1}% ${cpubar 6,30 cpu1}${freq cpu1}MHz${color} cpu2:${color1}${cpu cpu2}% ${cpubar 6,30 cpu2}${freq cpu2}MHz${color} mem:${color1}$memperc% ${membar 6,30}${color} dsk:${color1}${fs_used /}/${fs_size /}${fs_bar 6,30 /}${color} load:${color1}$loadavg ${color} ip:${color1}${addr wlan0}${color} trafc:${color1}${downspeed wlan0}/${upspeed wlan0}Kb/s${color} bat:${color1}$battery`
    edit: If I'm correct I'm supposed to delete everything that has to do with 'cpu2' under 'text' but I'm not sure what to delete exactly.
    Last edited by dbyjazz; October 29th, 2009 at 02:47 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    282

    Re: Conky problems

    TEXT
    $nodename:${color1}$kernel${color} up:${color1}$uptime${color} cpu1:${color1}${cpu cpu1}% ${cpubar 6,30 cpu1}${freq cpu1}MHz${color} cpu2:${color1}${cpu cpu2}% ${cpubar 6,30 cpu2}${freq cpu2}MHz${color} mem:${color1}$memperc% ${membar 6,30}${color} dsk:${color1}${fs_used /}/${fs_size /}${fs_bar 6,30 /}${color} load:${color1}$loadavg ${color} ip:${color1}${addr wlan0}${color} trafc:${color1}${downspeed wlan0}/${upspeed wlan0}Kb/s${color} bat:${color1}$battery`[/code]edit: If I'm correct I'm supposed to delete everything that has to do with 'cpu2' under 'text' but I'm not sure what to delete exactly.

    delete that

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Santa Clara, Utah
    Beans
    142
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Conky problems

    still can't find it anywhere. thanks though! It got rid of that error

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Santa Clara, Utah
    Beans
    142
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Conky problems

    someone please help. there's like nothing on google with my specific issue

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Beans
    492
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Conky problems

    d

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Santa Clara, Utah
    Beans
    142
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Conky problems

    Quote Originally Posted by sailthesea View Post
    Terminal: conky

    You did try that I hope
    yep I did

    from above is the fist time I tried it. This is what I'm getting now..

    Code:
    Conky: use_spacer should have an argument of left, right, or none.  'yes' seems to be some form of 'true', so defaulting to right.
    Conky: forked to background, pid is 2942
    derek@derek-laptop:~$ 
    Conky: desktop window (20000a8) is subwindow of root window (6c)
    Conky: window type - override
    Conky: drawing to created window (0x4800001)
    Conky: drawing to double buffer

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Beans
    307
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Conky problems

    incase you havnt solved the problem yet, I mng to get conky working by commenting out these two lines in ~.conkyrc .

    Code:
    ##${goto 32}CPU2: ${font Liberation Sans:style=Bold:size=8}${color1}${cpu cpu2}%${color}${font} ${alignr}${color2}
    ##${cpugraph cpu2 8,60 CE5C00 E07A1F}${color}
    hope this helps.
    Last edited by DarkAmbient; January 15th, 2010 at 06:37 PM. Reason: made code overview easier?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •