Thread: Ubuntu with Windows XP on Dell Inspiron 1520

Beans

Question Ubuntu with Windows XP on Dell Inspiron 1520

Hey,

I've never dealt with Linux/Ubuntu before. I'm a complete newbie in this sphere. However, I got interested in the OS and recently I decided to give it a try. I have DELL INSPIRON 1520 laptop with Windows XP installed on it. I watched lots of videos, read lots of articles and found out that people face lots of issues when installing Ubuntu on the following laptop. Before installing it I have some questions.
    1. How can I install Ubuntu by using Windows XP(and without damaging XP itself)I'd like to use dual boot..
    2. After installing Ubuntu do I have to install any drivers ?
    3. If I do - where can I download those ?
    4. Do I need to configure the hardware for my laptop to function properly.. ?

Thank you in advance

BTW, planning to install Ubuntu 8.04.3 32 bit Desktop version
    Last edited by Soundler; October 24th, 2009 at 10:11 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

Re: Ubuntu with Windows XP on Dell Inspiron 1520

Go for it! Even if xp is ok - ubuntu is way better. I have a dell xps m1530 and it had Vista. i say no more. 2 days ago i put in Vista as a virtual box - but what a drag! updates and installs for days - no kidding - and now the system takes about 20G on my box.
    Just wait a week, so the new 9.10 release is out. It's got some great improvements, download on a live-cd, burn on cd or on usb-stick. Check the download/burn with its own check-app. Install and update - you should have a physical net-conn - no wifi on this start-session. And since its one week away you could download the 9.04 release and play with that for a while - i have this and it's been tested thoroughly - and you can upgrade later.

Since Ubuntu is open source - you should look at this link

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=766683

to get mp3, flash and a lot of other goodies, just like you have done with xp.