Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Ubuntu 9.04 won't boot without being plugged in HP dv6000

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    3
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Ubuntu 9.04 won't boot without being plugged in HP dv6000

    Hey, I've been using Ubuntu on a desktop for awhile now (still a noob though) and love it! With the most recent release I finally got enough courage to stick it on my Laptop. The installation when well for the most part. I had a few small problems and was able to fix all but one.

    My computer won't boot or shutdown unless its plugged in. It runs fine doing everything else on battery though. At first I thought maybe it was the battery because its older one, but I tried another battery that is practically new and has hardly been used and it still does the same thing.

    Here is what happens:
    When I try to boot without being plugged in, it flashes the HP logo and the options to enter the bios. Then some text comes up on the top of the screen. After that, the screen goes blank. (the power light is on but not the hdd light)

    The instant I plug in the power cord, the Ubuntu logo comes up and it finishes booting. After it boots, I can run everything fine without being plugged in.

    Operating System: Ubuntu 9.04
    Computer: HP Pavillion dv6000
    Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-57 1900MHz
    Memory: 2GB

    I've checked around and can't seem to find any posts similar to this. If there are, sorry I posted. Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    3
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Ubuntu 9.04 won't boot without being plugged in HP dv6000

    Okay, weird update. I noticed if I hold down a key (so far any random key) on the keyboard, it will boot without being plugged in.

    Anyone have any ideas about that?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    1

    Re: Ubuntu 9.04 won't boot without being plugged in HP dv6000

    it happend to me too!

    my notebook is a compaq presario f700...

    during the boot, press ctrl + alt + f1

    to see what's going on!

    the issued seems to be ralated to the suspend and hibernate functions...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Southport
    Beans
    3
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Ubuntu 9.04 won't boot without being plugged in HP dv6000

    Also affects the HP DV9000 (dv9823em to be precise)

    lot of prodding to get it to boot, to shut down hold the power button down for a while. Curiously, plugging in part way through battery powered prodded booting, boot sequence proceeds normally.

    No such problem with 8.04.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Florence, Texas
    Beans
    1
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Ubuntu 9.04 won't boot without being plugged in HP dv6000

    I am having the exact same problem with my HP dv6000, the only difference is I have 4GB RAM. I have tried to add an additional 512Mb to my swap partition, although I am not quite sure I did it successfully. I have checked my power settings and restored them back to a default setting, and the problem still remains.

    Mathew

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    63

    Re: Ubuntu 9.04 won't boot without being plugged in HP dv6000

    Same thing happened to me when I installed 8.10 on my 64bit dv9000.

    This thread fixed it for me then, haven't tried it yet on 9.04

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1059545

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    1

    Re: Ubuntu 9.04 won't boot without being plugged in HP dv6000

    I had the same problem in my HP Pavilion dv6000 with Ubuntu 8.10, with and without AC power. Now with 9.04 the problem only appears when I work with batteries, I solved it booting with the acpi=noirq option, but actually, I don't know how healthy is booting this way.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    18

    Re: Ubuntu 9.04 won't boot without being plugged in HP dv6000

    My laptop is HP dv6500 (dv6502au) with ubuntu 9.04 amd64.
    I too had a similar problem. In ubuntu 8.10 I had to hold down a key even when my laptop was connected to power to make it boot. In ubuntu 9.04 I had to hold down a key only when it was booting off battery power.
    There are a number of fixes to this problem:
    1) Change the boot option in grub as suggested here
    2) Downgrade your kernel (probably use an older version of ubuntu - i didn't have any problem with 8.04)
    3) Update your bios
    4) Recompile your DSDT file
    There could be others, please share with the community if you find any.

    Now it looks like an ACPI issue to me. And i'm not an expert in this.

    Changing the boot option in grub will most likely disable the ACPI functionality which could be rather useful in a laptop.
    Downgrading is not a realistic option for sooo many reasons.
    You should upgrade the BIOS and see if it fixes this.
    If not then we could recompile DSDT file.

    Recompiling DSDT fixed it for me.

    I followed the instructions in How To Fix Your Buggy DSDT by snakedriver
    and HOWTO Fix A Buggy DSDT File by 67GTA
    Please read the entire article (post(s)) before you do anything, also before making a new initrd image which is the last step you could make a copy of it, just in case.

    Thanks you all.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Beans
    10

    Re: Ubuntu 9.04 won't boot without being plugged in HP dv6000

    Did anybody have a problem with the resolution when you installed ubuntu on your dv6000. I cant seem to fix it. Any help is appreciated.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    BUE @ Argentina
    Beans
    1,225
    Distro
    Kubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Ubuntu 9.04 won't boot without being plugged in HP dv6000

    same thing here in Kubuntu JJ 32bits.
    I found out that if I press any key during the booting process, Kubuntu loads fine.
    Of course, it works perfect when plugged.
    Resolution is fine though.

    Edit> read somewhere this can be fixed by adding acpi_osi="Linux" to the grub line. anyone tried it?
    Last edited by sergiom99; May 24th, 2009 at 12:52 AM.
    /**HP Pavilion DV6646us laptop: AMD 1.9 GHz Turion 64 X2 / 2Gb RAM / 160Gb HDD / NVIDIA GeForce Go 7150M / 15.4" WXGA / BroadCom BCM4328 wireless / Built-in webcam **/
    -- Kubuntu 9.04, CentOs 5.2, Mikrotik RouterOS 3.3 User -- Argentina LoCo Team

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •