Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Minimum Ubuntu partition install?

Beans

Minimum Ubuntu partition install?

Hey guys! I've been experimenting with ubuntu for a couple months now, but I have an issue for work that just came up. I have a 4 GB hard drive that I have to get Ubuntu, XP, and some free space installed as:

1 gb ntfs win xp
    1 gb ntfs shared space
    1.5 gb ext3 ubuntu (if possible?)

I also have to put alittle bit of free space between each of the partitions if possible. So I tried installing ubuntu as 1.5 gb, and it wouldn't let me. When I used 2 GB, it let me go through with the install, but cut out after reaching a certain point, saying there was no more space for the install.

Is there a way to slim down the install? I used nLite to slim xp to 1.2 gb, but the partition sizes are really a must for my work. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

Re: Minimum Ubuntu partition install?

Yep, do a minimal install and build up only what you need.

Ther are many light weight Ubuntu installs as well, crunchbang and lubuntu.
    There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth...not going all the way, and not starting.
    --Prince Gautama Siddharta

#ubuntuforums web interface

Beans

How exactly do you do a minimum install?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Check this page out for the Minimal CD - https://help.ubuntu.com/community/In...tion/MinimalCD