Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Studio Launcher: Jamming and Music production environment on-demand in seconds

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Studio Launcher: Jamming and Music production environment on-demand in seconds

Short version:
    A first release of Studio launcher is available at https://launchpad.net/~motin/+archive/ppa

Latest version is (for direct download): https://launchpad.net/~motin/+archiv...er_0.1_all.deb

Long version:
    Back in 8.04, I set up some scripts to help out with the complex configuration and initation of JACK based music software in Ubuntu.

With Karmic's Quickly, updates to the scripts (so that they actually work on Karmic) and some newly aquired PPA packaging know-how, the project is resurrected in the form of "Studio Launcher": https://launchpad.net/studiolauncher

It is not finished in any way (and it obviously shows that this is my first attempt to do anything even partly in python) but already helps with a great deal:
    - Installation and usage of linuxsampler (which is not in repos nor easy to install using the official packages)
    - Configuration of JACK and PulseAudio so that ordinary applications still have sound features while running JACK
    - Usage of VSTi instruments (through wine and dssi-vst)

Currently, it requires manual changes to the scripts to work in your environment, the Settings dialog is not yet implemented...

Try out the latest version from my PPA: https://launchpad.net/~motin/+archive/ppa

Be sure to read the readmes...

Earlier post (for Hardy):
    HOWTO: Set up a Jamming and Music production environment on-demand in seconds

Ever since I started using Linux, I have wanted to use free applications for Jamming and producing music. This is "very possible" and over the years I have found how to combine many free tools to transform my laptop into a jamming box that has joined me at several performances.