Thread: Waiting for 9.10...what to do ?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

Question Waiting for 9.10...what to do ?

Hi there..

i recently moved from a lifetime in widows to this new (for me of course) world of Linux/Ubuntu. By a friend recommendation, i've installed Ubuntu 8.04 from disc doing a double boot with windows XP. My old HD has 120GB so i decided to do a 50%-50% partition.

ive learned that 9.10 is coming up soon so here are my questions ..

1) would you recommend upgrading from 8.04 to 9.10 ? why ? i read somewhere that 8.04 was not a bad choise for a newbie like me.
    2) i'd like to re-size my partitions, it seems and awfull waste of space in winodows. Is there any tool to do that, that you recommend ?. Do i do it before upgrading OS?
    3) would you recommend an actual upgrade (is it posible? ) or a clean installation from zero in this case .. ?

i thank you in advance for your posts..

regards.
    im new to this...(but i am a fast learner) so please bare for me a while.
    =============
    My Newbie Threads ...please help me to learn:
    Conky Compiling 8.04 | Waiting for 9.10 | Errors & Log Files|

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Waiting for 9.10...what to do ?

Personally I'd go for a clean install. I daresay someone will be along very shortly to advise on the resizing of Partitions. Ubuntu is good! you'll love it!

Beans

My thoughts:

1) Probably no need to upgrade, at least immediately. 8.04 will have support for another couple of years before it is considered obsolete.

2) Gparted. It is probably best to run from the Live CD as then none of your disks or partitions will be mounted and you will be able to redo any partition(s) you want.

3. I ALWAYS recommend a clean installation from scratch. For me (and my past experience) upgrades tend to work "pretty well", but there always seems to be a "gotcha" in there somewhere.

LewRockwell is offline Chocolate Ubuntu Mocha Blend
    Beans
    Hidden!