Page 12 of 88 FirstFirst ... 210111213142262 ... LastLast
Results 111 to 120 of 874

Thread: New Wacom Bamboo not working

  1. #111
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Southern Ontario, Canada
    Beans
    296
    Distro
    Ubuntu UNR

    Re: New Wacom Bamboo not working

    No, no Nvidia utils Favux, I configured it myself using output from the xorg log for the omnitor settings. I'm running an "Intel Corporation Mobile 945GME Express Integrated Graphics Controller" - according to the xorg file.

    Understood about Gimp. Thx.
    Still not button one - mouse click on touching the tablet. Still stuff to try tho. Trying one thing at a time - slow but much more sure of knowing what's going on.

    I do have debug stuff in my Stylus section as Ayuthia suggested. I get no report of button number or status change no matter what button I click - the the right button does bring up a context menu still.

  2. #112
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    9,635
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: New Wacom Bamboo not working

    Maybe try?:
    Code:
    	Option TPCButton "on"
    In the stylus section. It should be default. From: http://linuxwacom.sourceforge.net/in...howto/inputdev

  3. #113
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Southern Ontario, Canada
    Beans
    296
    Distro
    Ubuntu UNR

    Re: New Wacom Bamboo not working

    I will but... I do have SUCCESS =D>

    My last thing was to comment the entire 10-wacom.fdi xml file re wacom stuff and now I have what I did with evdev!!

    I don't have pressure yet tho - at least not in xournal (with settings for pressure).
    My pen button is defined as 3, not 2 as it should be?! There's an xorg.conf option for that I think - Option "Button3" "2" - or something like that?

    WOW, getting there but what a long haul!!!

    Currently I only have only Stylus defined in xorg.conf as:
    Code:
     57 ### Wacom start
     58 Section "InputDevice"
     59         Identifier      "stylus"
     60         Driver          "wacom"
     61         Option          "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
     62         Option          "Type"  "stylus"
     63         Option          "USB"   "on"
     64         Option          "Threshold" "0"
     65         Option          "DebugLevel" "12" 
     66 EndSection
    I'll try your suggestion to see if it changes things.

    So if i understand now, these settings could go in the fdi file? Is there any advantage to that vs xorg.conf?

    I'll have a look again at the community wacom page, but what do you think I should try for pressure for xournal - it's what I use mostly. Gimp's more hi-powered - I like the simplicity of xournal.

    EDIT: (man, I always re-edit my posts!)
    I also forgot to mention that I commented out "SendCoreEvents"...
    Code:
     68 Section "ServerLayout"
     69         Identifier      "Default Layout"
     70         Screen          0 "Screen" 0 0
     71         Option          "DontZap" "false"
     72 ### TouchKit start
     73         InputDevice     "EETI" "SendCoreEvents"
     74 ### TouchKit end
     75 ### Wacom start
     76         # InputDevice     "stylus" # "SendCoreEvents"
     77 #       InputDevice     "pad"
     78 ### Wacom end
     79 EndSection
    hmmm - I just realized I commented out the whole thing! Ok, I'll try again and repost my findings
    Last edited by kgingeri; October 19th, 2009 at 12:44 AM. Reason: missed important info?

  4. #114
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Southern Ontario, Canada
    Beans
    296
    Distro
    Ubuntu UNR

    Re: New Wacom Bamboo not working

    BTW - this is a bit off-topic, but I got tired of typing and cd'ing to long path names, so I put this at the end of my .bashrc file...

    Code:
    fcd() {
      if F_PTH=`locate -e -i -l 1 -r $1` ; then
        cd `echo $F_PTH | awk '{print substr($0,1,match($0,"'$1'")-2)}'`
      else
        echo 'Nothing found for [$1]!'
      fi  
    }
    
    fvi() {
      if F_PTH=`locate -e -i -l 1 -r $1` ; then
        vi $F_PTH
      else
        echo 'Nothing found for [$1]!'
      fi  
    }
    They are bash shell functions (side effects included ) that let you do:
    Code:
    /user/home/$ fvi xorg.conf
    ..or...
    /usr/home/$ fcd xorg.conf
    /etc/X11$

  5. #115
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Southern Ontario, Canada
    Beans
    296
    Distro
    Ubuntu UNR

    Re: New Wacom Bamboo not working

    Aaarg, not so successful after all - Favux probably already knows what happened...
    My commenting out the Stylus line and the fdi file means I was running back on evdev again.

    RATS!

    Favux, your line in xorg.conf didn't help either. You did mean for it to be in quotes, right!? So what I have now is...
    Code:
    ### Wacom start
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier	"stylus"
    	Driver		"wacom"
    	Option		"Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
    	Option		"Type"	"stylus"
    	Option		"USB"	"on"
    	Option		"Threshold" "0"
    	Option		"DebugLevel" "12" 
    	Option 		"TPCButton" "on"
    EndSection
    ### Wacom end
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier      "Default Layout"
    	Screen          0 "Screen" 0 0
    	Option		"DontZap" "false"
    ### TouchKit start
    	InputDevice     "EETI" "SendCoreEvents"
    ### TouchKit end
    ### Wacom start
    	InputDevice     "stylus" # "SendCoreEvents"
    ### Wacom end
    EndSection
    ...and no click again.

    Back to the drawing board... hmmm... pun intended, I guess

  6. #116
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    9,635
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: New Wacom Bamboo not working

    Hi kgingeri,

    Sorry about leaving out the quotes. Let's add at least one button in there:
    Code:
    	Option "Button2" "2"  # make first button a middle button
    or remap it:
    Code:
    	Option "Button2" "3"  # make second button a R button
    Just to see if we get a reaction.

    Maybe take a look at the Xorg.0.log and seeing what the driver is doing? Or try "xidump stylus" in a terminal. See: http://linuxwacom.sourceforge.net/in...p/howto/xidump

  7. #117
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    16

    Re: New Wacom Bamboo not working

    Wow. I really should have checked for a thread like this before going out and getting a Bamboo Craft about 3 hours ago. It has a vendorroduct of 056a:00d2 so this should help me and as soon as I catch up to how far it has come I will help if I can. Iḿ was considering taking it back and getting a less expensive one that has better support but it seems like this should be working pretty well in not too long.

  8. #118
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Southern Ontario, Canada
    Beans
    296
    Distro
    Ubuntu UNR

    Re: New Wacom Bamboo not working

    Ok, now I do have some real SUCCESS I have selection, click etc with the pen on the tablet and X definitions in place.

    I was ahead of you Favux, but I think that was it. I also got my pen button (lower) to respond properly as button 2. I also set "Threshold" to "1", in case "0" disables it? Wacom man page talks about it being MaxPressure*3/50, so not sure why I was 0.

    Also I was getting xinput reporting 32 buttons! I'm now down to 5 and I don't have that many, but that may be coming from the driver for tablets that have buttons on them. (I'd like to get that cleaned up before issuing a patch for Ping at linuxwacom)

    xinput now reports:
    Code:
    "stylus"	id=2	[XExtensionKeyboard]
    	Num_keys is 248
    	Min_keycode is 8
    	Max_keycode is 255
    	Num_buttons is 5
    	Num_axes is 6
    	Mode is Absolute
    	Motion_buffer is 256
    	Axis 0 :
    		Min_value is 0
    		Max_value is 14732
    		Resolution is 2540
    	Axis 1 :
    		Min_value is 0
    		Max_value is 8632
    		Resolution is 2540
    	Axis 2 :
    		Min_value is 0
    		Max_value is 511
    		Resolution is 1
    	Axis 3 :
    		Min_value is -64
    		Max_value is 63
    		Resolution is 1
    	Axis 4 :
    		Min_value is -64
    		Max_value is 63
    		Resolution is 1
    	Axis 5 :
    		Min_value is 0
    		Max_value is 1023
    		Resolution is 1
    Favux, X locks when I try "xidump stylus"!? Any ideas?

    My pertinent xorg.conf info is now...
    Code:
    ### Wacom start
    #  see http://linuxwacom.sourceforge.net/index.php/howto/inputdev for details
    #  or 'man wacom'
    #
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier	"stylus"
    	Driver		"wacom"
    	Option		"Device"      "/dev/input/wacom"
    	Option		"Type"        "stylus"
    	Option		"USB"         "on"
    	Option 		"Mode"        "Absolute"# ...in relation to screen (default is abs)
    	Option 		"KeepShape"   "on"	# ...conform to screen size
    	Option		"Button1"     "1"
    	Option		"Button2"     "3"	# ...seems my buttons are mixed?
    	Option		"Button3"     "2"
    	Option		"Threshold"   "1"	# ...presure required for event button1
    	Option		"Num_buttons" "2"	# ...seems to be 32 by default!
    	Option		"ButtonsOnly" "off"	# ...TEMPORARY: "on" for trouble shooting
    	Option		"DebugLevel"  "7" 
    	# Option 	"commonDBG"   "3"	# ...driver debug
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier	"eraser"
    	Driver		"wacom"
    	Option		"Device" "/dev/input/wacom" # .../dev/input/event<n> instead maybe?
    	Option		"Type"   "eraser"
    	Option		"USB"	 "on"
    EndSection
    ### Wacom end
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier      "Default Layout"
    	Screen          0 "Screen" 0 0
    	Option		"DontZap" "false"
    ### Wacom start
    	InputDevice     "stylus" "SendCoreEvents"
    	InputDevice     "eraser" "SendCoreEvents"
    ### Wacom end
    EndSection
    I'm wondering if the upper button press is eraser? playing with that too.

  9. #119
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    9,635
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: New Wacom Bamboo not working

    Hi johnny2k,

    Welcome to Ubuntu Forums!

    Up to you but if you want to jump in, great! The more the merrier. At worst the LWP will probably support it in a few months.


    Hi kgingeri,

    Wow! Getting there. If one button is the eraser maybe that's the confusion? In Gimp you can configure an eraser rather that using a button like Xournal. Does your documentation have anything to say about the stylus and it's functions?

    Usually a reboot gets xidump working for me.

    And yes, supposedly we can take the working xorg.conf and turn it into a .fdi.
    Last edited by Favux; October 19th, 2009 at 02:57 AM.

  10. #120
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Southern Ontario, Canada
    Beans
    296
    Distro
    Ubuntu UNR

    Re: New Wacom Bamboo not working

    Ok, more discoveries...

    If I hold the pen above the surface but within the field for detection, and click the pen, it acts like a middle button (I guess it's actually 2 - so I can leave well enough alone in xorg.conf) previously it was acting like 3 (right-click). So I DO HAVE BUTTONS 1 and 3 working. Looks like I don't have a button 2. Modifier keys don't seem to help either - like shift, control or Alt. It is only a $69 CDN tablet

    If I uncheck Xinput in xournal, I can select line widths, but I only get the thinest line with it selected and pressure selected make no difference.

    Gimp gives no pressure response as is - need to do the mod suggested by Favux.

Page 12 of 88 FirstFirst ... 210111213142262 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •