Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 41 to 50 of 50

Thread: How do I Install k10temp?

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    123
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: How do I Install k10temp?

    This is what I get at step 5:
    Code:
    mahmood@localhost:k10temp$ sudo make -C /lib/modules/$(uname -r)/build M=$(pwd) modules
    make: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.32-25-generic'
    /usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.32-25-generic/arch/x86/Makefile:81: stack protector enabled but no compiler support
      Building modules, stage 2.
      MODPOST 0 modules
    make: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.32-25-generic'
    After that:
    Code:
    mahmood@orca:k10temp$ sudo insmod k10temp.ko
    insmod: can't read 'k10temp.ko': No such file or directory
    Any idea for that?

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Newcastle, UK
    Beans
    103

    Re: How do I Install k10temp?

    Just to say that this works great for me. Phenom II 955, MSI 770-C45, 2.6.33-generic, Lucid 64-bit. I now have the temp displayed in conky.

    Thanks Penguin!

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Beans
    51
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: How do I Install k10temp?

    I have Linux Mint 10 (based on Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick) and sensors work perfectly out-of-the-box. Here are my results:

    Motherboard: ASUS M4A89GTD-PRO/USB3 (890GX chipset)
    CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 955

    Code:
    k10temp-pci-00c3
    Adapter: PCI adapter
    temp1:       +38.5°C  (high = +70.0°C, crit = +90.0°C)  
    
    atk0110-acpi-0
    Adapter: ACPI interface
    Vcore Voltage:      +1.00 V  (min =  +0.80 V, max =  +1.60 V)
    +3.3V Voltage:      +3.36 V  (min =  +2.97 V, max =  +3.63 V)
    +5V Voltage:        +5.14 V  (min =  +4.50 V, max =  +5.50 V)
    +12V Voltage:      +11.97 V  (min = +10.20 V, max = +13.80 V)
    CPU Fan Speed:     1956 RPM  (min =  600 RPM)
    Chassis Fan Speed: 2129 RPM  (min =  600 RPM)
    Chassis2 Fan Speed:2824 RPM  (min =  600 RPM)
    Power Fan Speed:      0 RPM  (min =  600 RPM)
    CPU Temperature:    +37.0°C  (high = +60.0°C, crit = +95.0°C)  
    MB Temperature:     +31.0°C  (high = +45.0°C, crit = +75.0°C)
    Noob question here: what is the difference between k10temp-pci-00c3 and atk0110-acpi-0 ? Temp1 from k10temp is always very close to CPU Temperature from atk0110, but they are not the same. Are they both CPU readings? How come? And which is more reliable?

    Thanks!

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Beans
    47
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How do I Install k10temp?

    Quote Originally Posted by MestreLion View Post
    I have Linux Mint 10 (based on Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick) and sensors work perfectly out-of-the-box. Here are my results:

    Motherboard: ASUS M4A89GTD-PRO/USB3 (890GX chipset)
    CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 955

    Code:
    k10temp-pci-00c3
    Adapter: PCI adapter
    temp1:       +38.5°C  (high = +70.0°C, crit = +90.0°C)  
    
    atk0110-acpi-0
    Adapter: ACPI interface
    Vcore Voltage:      +1.00 V  (min =  +0.80 V, max =  +1.60 V)
    +3.3V Voltage:      +3.36 V  (min =  +2.97 V, max =  +3.63 V)
    +5V Voltage:        +5.14 V  (min =  +4.50 V, max =  +5.50 V)
    +12V Voltage:      +11.97 V  (min = +10.20 V, max = +13.80 V)
    CPU Fan Speed:     1956 RPM  (min =  600 RPM)
    Chassis Fan Speed: 2129 RPM  (min =  600 RPM)
    Chassis2 Fan Speed:2824 RPM  (min =  600 RPM)
    Power Fan Speed:      0 RPM  (min =  600 RPM)
    CPU Temperature:    +37.0°C  (high = +60.0°C, crit = +95.0°C)  
    MB Temperature:     +31.0°C  (high = +45.0°C, crit = +75.0°C)
    Noob question here: what is the difference between k10temp-pci-00c3 and atk0110-acpi-0 ? Temp1 from k10temp is always very close to CPU Temperature from atk0110, but they are not the same. Are they both CPU readings? How come? And which is more reliable?

    Thanks!
    Hi MestreLion.

    From what i've found out the K10temp comes from inside the CPU it's self

    and the other CPU temp comes from under/inside the socket on the M/B.

    They call k10temp the core temp(yes only one shows up)& the other is socket temp.

    Hope that explains it.

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    61
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Exclamation Re: How do I Install k10temp?

    OK, for the guy who doesn't want k10temp to start, if you ever want a module to not start, add its name to
    /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf

    you could do that by entering this command

    Code:
    $ sudo echo k10temp >> /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
    also remember these modules just monitor, regardless if you load k10temp or not, your actual temperature will the same. regardless of what sensors reports, its an interpretation from the temperature sensors. Many models are incorrect as well.

    my BIOS says my CPU temp at idle is 34 C
    k10temp says it around 15 C

    my temperature didn't lower by running Linux, k10temp is either reading incorrectly or "more likely" libsensors doesn't have a correct configuration for my proc.

    speaking of which if anyone also has this issue, or found a good config for /etc/sensors*, would love to hear about it.

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Beans
    51
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: How do I Install k10temp?

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Leman View Post
    Hi MestreLion.

    From what i've found out the K10temp comes from inside the CPU it's self

    and the other CPU temp comes from under/inside the socket on the M/B.

    They call k10temp the core temp(yes only one shows up)& the other is socket temp.

    Hope that explains it.
    Yes it does! Thank you very much!

    Another noobish question: ive googled about atk0110 and found a LOT of material about a similar, asus_atk0110. As my board is an Asus one, should i use this instead of the "regular" atk? How? Or is this outdated info?

    Another important question, maybe a lil off-topic: how to get PWM fan control to work? After a lot of googling and seaching here, all the proposed solutions using fancontrol didnt work. All i get is something like "no devices found". Ive also read that currently kernel has no drivers for PMW for current 890GX chipset. Is thisdd true? Should i just wait, or is there anything i can do?

    Last but not least: sensrors-applet RULEZ!!!! Ive managed to add a new pannel with dozens of meters.. temps, volts, fan speed, even hdd temp! But hddtemp must run as a daemon for it to work, so... what is the "proper" way to run hddtemp as a daemon when system boots? I dont want to type sudo hddtemp /dev/sd[a-z] -d everytime i log in

    Ill stop here, im getting waaaay off topic!

    Thanks!

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    1

    Re: How do I Install k10temp?

    Hello !

    I have an HP pavilion dv5 on Ubuntu 10.04 LTS. He doesn't detect any sensors with "sensors" command, but "sensors-detect" tells me that I have to instal the k10temp driver.
    I have downloaded k10temp.c, and I am following your instructions.

    However, I have a problem when I want to create the makefile:

    first step: "echo 'obj-m := k10temp.o'"
    result: "obj-m := k10temp.o"
    I think this first step is OK.

    second step: "KDIR := /lib/modules/$(shell uname -r)/build"
    result: "No command 'shell' found, did you mean:
    Command 'lshell' from package 'lshell' (universe)
    Command 'kshell' from package 'kdelibs4c2a' (universe)
    Command 'spell' from package 'spell' (universe)
    Command 'bshell' from package 'avahi-ui-utils' (universe)
    shell*: commande introuvable
    KDIR*: commande introuvable"

    So, this second step is not working ... What can I do ?

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Beans
    353

    Re: How do I Install k10temp?

    Quote Originally Posted by G4mick View Post
    ...
    However, I have a problem when I want to create the makefile:

    first step: "echo 'obj-m := k10temp.o'"
    result: "obj-m := k10temp.o"
    I think this first step is OK.
    ...
    Step 3 is all one step. The single quote (apostrophe => ') on what you list on the line above should not be matched until the last line. You should just copy and paste what is in the entire panel into a terminal window and execute it. That should create a file named Makefile with the contents between the first single quote and the last single quote. (In other words, the single quote highlighted above does not belong.)

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    45
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: How do I Install k10temp?

    I could not execute the insmod k10temp.ko

    What I did was sudo su

    and re-typed step 5 at a # and then I could do step 6.

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Beans
    95

    Re: How do I Install k10temp?

    booyah.

    worked perfectly. cheers.

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •