Page 7 of 12 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 115

Thread: GRUB 2 Introduction

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GRUB 2 Introduction

    nema.arpit,

    Do you also happen to have an old Ubuntu install on sda8 that it could be detecting?

    I haven't used Arch, but just to try to get it into the menu here is what I would do:

    Open 40_custom with a root text editor ( gksu gedit /etc/grub.d/40_custom ).

    Leave the first 4 lines alone and add this:
    menuentry "Arch on sda8" {
    insmod ext2
    set root=(hd0,8)
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 2c54715c-378c-419f-8a91-afcf3826b9f0
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.31-14-generic root=UUID=844f32db-8639-443c-81de-5cd5ad45b0fd ro quiet splash
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.31-14-generic
    }
    You are probably familiar with what an Arch menu looks like, so just edit the areas in bold to comply with the Arch files.

    Save the file, then run "sudo update-grub" and that menu item should be incorporated into the GRUB 2 menu.

    This is a temporary solution until you/others can figure out why the os-prober isn't picking up the correct information.
    GRUB2

    Retired.

  2. #62
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    San Diego,California
    Beans
    65
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: GRUB 2 Introduction

    Ok I got this problem solved.
    Working menuentry :
    Code:
    menuentry "Arch" {
        insmod ext2
        set root=(hd0,4)
        linux /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sda8 ro quiet splash acpi_osi="Linux"
        initrd /kernel26.img
    }
    (hda0,4) : my grub partition
    sda8 : arch partition
    The options after sda8 are optional.
    I removed "search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 2c54715c-378c-419f-8a91-afcf3826b9f0" because the uuid value was not correct and I don't know if this line is really necessary.
    I expect it would work fine with the corrected uuid values :
    --set [UUID of grub partition]

    (edit)Does not work with
    root=UUID=[UUID of arch partition] - it tries to detect the partition but fails. It works well with root=/dev/sda8


    PS
    Dont copy and paste from the post, it seems to generate a syntax error even if it is correct.It's better to copy from the grub.cfg and edit as needed.
    Last edited by nema.arpit; October 24th, 2009 at 04:59 PM.

  3. #63
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    South East Montana
    Beans
    6,153

    Re: GRUB 2 Introduction

    This is very interesting, I have been wondering how menu entries like this would work outside of Ubuntu.

    I have this that is booting all my 9.10 installs;
    Code:
             menuentry "KinkyA4 on sda20" { 
             set root=(hd0,20) 
             linux /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda20 so quiet splash 
             initrd /initrd.img 
     }
    As you can see it is the same, except for your additional instructions in the one line.


    Good job.
    Dell 480 XPS 3G ram Quad Core 2.40GHz, Radeon HD 2400 PRO, Audigy1, 3x320G HDD, 320G External, Debian Testing for use, Debian Squeeze for secure use, Debian Sid for FUN

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    306
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: GRUB 2 Introduction

    Hello, I hear that the default behaviour is for GRUB2 to automatically boot unless you press SHIFT.

    Unfortunately, if you have memtest and Vista in the GRUB list, it doesn't. Is there a way to force the "skip UI unless SHIFT down" behaviour?

    Thanks

  5. #65
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GRUB 2 Introduction

    Quote Originally Posted by ranch hand View Post
    This is very interesting, I have been wondering how menu entries like this would work outside of Ubuntu.

    I have this that is booting all my 9.10 installs;
    Code:
             menuentry "KinkyA4 on sda20" { 
             set root=(hd0,20) 
             linux /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda20 so quiet splash 
             initrd /initrd.img 
     }
    As you can see it is the same, except for your additional instructions in the one line.


    Good job.
    Your doing the same thing with, ro, quiet, splash.
    Apparently he needs the acpi_osi="Linux" line to work with his Archlinux.
    boot_info_script | AMD64 Athlon X2 Dual-Core - nVidia Geforce 6150 SE - 4GB DDR3

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    South East Montana
    Beans
    6,153

    Re: GRUB 2 Introduction

    Quote Originally Posted by cyberkilla View Post
    Hello, I hear that the default behaviour is for GRUB2 to automatically boot unless you press SHIFT.

    Unfortunately, if you have memtest and Vista in the GRUB list, it doesn't. Is there a way to force the "skip UI unless SHIFT down" behaviour?

    Thanks
    You should be able to go to /etc/default/grub and uncomment the hidden menu entry and that should do it.
    Dell 480 XPS 3G ram Quad Core 2.40GHz, Radeon HD 2400 PRO, Audigy1, 3x320G HDD, 320G External, Debian Testing for use, Debian Squeeze for secure use, Debian Sid for FUN

  7. #67
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    mumbai
    Beans
    252
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Question Re: GRUB 2 Introduction

    i have posted my issue here http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...ighlight=grub2

    however lemme explain it again from scratch.
    I have a multiboot on two HDD
    windows xp and intrepid on sda with a dedicated grub partition and now installed kramic on sdb.

    i did a kramic fresh install and updated intrepid to grub2 then booted with my kramic live cd and updated the grub partition. however at boot a get the gfrub prompt.

    what needs to be done ahead to configure grub2 totally?

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Beans
    105
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Post Re: GRUB 2 Introduction

    I just set up Fedora and wanted to add it to my Grub 2 list and its not coming up with update-grub

    Code:
    /dev/sda1: SEC_TYPE="msdos" LABEL="DellUtility" UUID="3030-3030" TYPE="vfat" 
    /dev/sda2: UUID="FE726D38726CF6B5" LABEL="RECOVERY" TYPE="ntfs" 
    /dev/sda3: UUID="1E286292286268AB" TYPE="ntfs" 
    /dev/sda5: UUID="3c7f3157-e27a-40bd-8931-42d7a401a80b" TYPE="swap" 
    /dev/sda6: LABEL="Ubuntu" UUID="8e8afc66-7377-498b-a2b8-231ab0dcb991" TYPE="ext4" 
    /dev/sda7: LABEL="Home" UUID="d05dd653-4278-4881-8f63-34ebaede0abd" TYPE="ext4" 
    /dev/sda8: LABEL="F12-Beta-x86_64-" UUID="465798e0-e1fc-4e32-9fff-0ea1b548fdeb" TYPE="ext4"
    I put
    Code:
    menuentry "Fedora" {
            set root=(hd0,8)
            linux /vmlinuz-2.6.31.1-56.fc12.x86_64 root=/dev/sda8 ro quiet splash
            initrd /initramfs-2.6.31.1-56.fc12.x86_64.img
    }
    in 40_custom and when I go to bppt fedora it says error: need to load kernel first

    Changed
    Code:
    linux /vmlinuz-2.6.31.1-56.fc12.x86_64 root=/dev/sda8 ro quiet splash
            initrd /initramfs-2.6.31.1-56.fc12.x86_64.img
    to
    Code:
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.31.1-56.fc12.x86_64 root=/dev/sda8 ro quiet splash
            initrd /boot/initramfs-2.6.31.1-56.fc12.x86_64.img
    and all is now good
    Last edited by woodbj; October 25th, 2009 at 07:04 AM.

  9. #69
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    South East Montana
    Beans
    6,153

    Re: GRUB 2 Introduction

    Quote Originally Posted by woodbj View Post
    I just set up Fedora and wanted to add it to my Grub 2 list and its not coming up with update-grub

    Code:
    /dev/sda1: SEC_TYPE="msdos" LABEL="DellUtility" UUID="3030-3030" TYPE="vfat" 
    /dev/sda2: UUID="FE726D38726CF6B5" LABEL="RECOVERY" TYPE="ntfs" 
    /dev/sda3: UUID="1E286292286268AB" TYPE="ntfs" 
    /dev/sda5: UUID="3c7f3157-e27a-40bd-8931-42d7a401a80b" TYPE="swap" 
    /dev/sda6: LABEL="Ubuntu" UUID="8e8afc66-7377-498b-a2b8-231ab0dcb991" TYPE="ext4" 
    /dev/sda7: LABEL="Home" UUID="d05dd653-4278-4881-8f63-34ebaede0abd" TYPE="ext4" 
    /dev/sda8: LABEL="F12-Beta-x86_64-" UUID="465798e0-e1fc-4e32-9fff-0ea1b548fdeb" TYPE="ext4"
    I put
    Code:
    menuentry "Fedora" {
            set root=(hd0,8)
            cc
    }
    in 40_custom and when I go to bppt fedora it says error: need to load kernel first

    Changed
    Code:
    linux /vmlinuz-2.6.31.1-56.fc12.x86_64 root=/dev/sda8 ro quiet splash
            initrd /initramfs-2.6.31.1-56.fc12.x86_64.img
    to
    Code:
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.31.1-56.fc12.x86_64 root=/dev/sda8 ro quiet splash
            initrd /boot/initramfs-2.6.31.1-56.fc12.x86_64.img
    and all is now good
    Is Fedora on the #8 partition?

    Grub2 counts the drives like grub-legacy but partitions like gparted, so if Fedora is on the #9 partition it should be (hd0,9)
    EDIT
    Sorry, need to go to bed, can't read. 8 it is.
    Dell 480 XPS 3G ram Quad Core 2.40GHz, Radeon HD 2400 PRO, Audigy1, 3x320G HDD, 320G External, Debian Testing for use, Debian Squeeze for secure use, Debian Sid for FUN

  10. #70
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    South East Montana
    Beans
    6,153

    Re: GRUB 2 Introduction

    Try this with your Fedora;
    Code:
    echo "Adding DailyGrub on sda22" >&2
    cat << EOF
    menuentry "Adding DailyGrub on sda22" {
            set root=(hd0,22)
            linux /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda22 ro quiet splash
            initrd /initrd.img
    }
    EOF
    You need to edit it to your box of coarse.

    Should boot about anything in the partition.
    Dell 480 XPS 3G ram Quad Core 2.40GHz, Radeon HD 2400 PRO, Audigy1, 3x320G HDD, 320G External, Debian Testing for use, Debian Squeeze for secure use, Debian Sid for FUN

Page 7 of 12 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •