Thread: [HELP!!] VLC media player wont play movies

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Exclamation [HELP!!] VLC media player wont play movies

Hey people. Im a ubuntu noob, and im running ubuntu off a new computer.

When I open VLC media player or the standard Ubuntu Media Player, and try to play a file, the program closes immediatly. When I open VLC using Terminal, this comes up.

VLC media player 0.9.9a Grishenko
    [00000001] main libvlc debug: VLC media player - version 0.9.9a Grishenko - (c) 1996-2009 the VideoLAN team