Thread: Installed Ubuntu using Wubi, but nothing happens

Beans

Installed Ubuntu using Wubi, but nothing happens

Hello,

I have good computer skills, but I am completely new with the Linux universe, and I would like to discover it. I recently downloaded Ubuntu 9.04 and tried it without installing it, but I would now like to install it using Wubi.

I placed the Ubuntu ISO in the same folder as Wubi.exe and started the application, after which the window automatically closed itself (no confirmation message or invitation to reboot).

When I boot my computer, WindowsXP starts automatically and I don't have the choice of booting Ubuntu.

I tried reinstalling Ubuntu a few times, with no success. I also used the "checkdisk /r" and "fixmdr" commands.

I would prefer using Wubi instead of creating a partition. Can anyone tell me why I can't boot into Ubuntu?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Re: Installed Ubuntu using Wubi, but nothing happens

If you have good internet connection its probably easier to do it online Install Wubi inside Windows and then run and install from the website It just seems to work better like that Once done you will be given the dual boot option at bootup
    Start here

http://wubi-installer.org/

Welcome and Good Luck!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

I have heard that Windows Disk Cleanup can accidentally mistaken the boot record images (Wubi) as junk files if you happen to run Cleanup right after installation, instead of rebooting.

Another possibility: which drive did you select to install to? You may have accidentally mistakened, say, a flash-card or an external drive (if you have those connected) instead of the C: drive. What I would do is to uninstall Ubuntu (Ubuntu is actually listed in Add/Remove Programs) and re-do the whole process, making sure to install to the C: drive.

Beans