Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Access speeds in assembly

Beans
    Hidden!

Access speeds in assembly

Short version: I'm curious as to the order in which these access methods rank in assembly: registers, stack, and memory (via direct addresses). I have a funny feeling that's the hierarchy right there, but I'm still fairly new to assembly...

Long version: I'm taking an x86 assembly class (much to my dismay using MASM), and our last assignment was to write the first 24 terms of the Fibonacci sequence. We were asked to write it with registers so I did, with gratuitous use of the xchg instruction.

Then, I had a thought. Why not write it using a pointer in memory (essentially an array)? I thought I was really clever when I was able to do it without using a 'mov' operation, and only arithmetic.

After that, I figured that there had to be a way to abuse the stack to store values, but ditched the idea with the suspicion that I would just be rewriting the xchg instruction (and likely less efficiently).

So I got to wondering which of these methods was the fastest, but found myself at a loss. M$ provides junk for gauging performance with MASM, and this is also a really small amount of code to be measuring execution time. Anyone have any experience with assembly to know which access methods are the quickest?

Beans

Re: Access speeds in assembly

Your hierarchy is correct. I'd suggest getting a (thin) book on (x86) assembly if you're planning to do anything with it in the future.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

The access speeds depend on both the operation and the operands (and the architecture). Typically, operations between 2 registers are very fast. The x86 architecture is an example of a pipelined architecture so most operations will take more than one clock cycle. Compare that to the MIPS architecture where operations typically perform in fewer clock cycles.