Thread: allmost nothing works...

Beans

allmost nothing works...

I've been trying to study linux ubuntu for couple weeks now but got allmost nowhere and it's pretty frustrating.
    I downloaded tuxguitar since i am a guitarist, but no midi wont work, the program crashes once in a while (mostly while you are trying to shut it down it just freezes), i looked into google, found help but it didn't work.
    I downloaded and installed gtkpod, but no, it says error to write while trying to add songs to my ipod and it cant decode my mp3 files, says it's some error again.
    I have the latest drivers but still this system says video card drivers isn't installed everytime i start my computer again and i can't install since when tried, my computer says they are in there already. and when writing text for example in facebook it's painfully slow, as scrolling up and down internet sites.

Those are the main problems i have, pretty annoying in everyday use.. since i really would need some guitar tablature editor because of my hobby and band. and yeah, i wuold like to put songs in my ipod

is the problem in my hardware or what?
    I have nvidia GT8600
    2 GB ram
    Intel dual core 1,86

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: allmost nothing works...

Hello and welcome

midi

Is there a nvidia graphics card in system > administration > hardware drivers? I believe NVIDIA 177 is the one you want.

For your iPod try a few different apps Rhythmbox, Banshee, Amarok

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

For the Ipod I would use Amarok or Banshee, look here

Graphic card: the right package for your card is nvidia-glx-180 here
    After installing it you must go to hardware drivers, activate it and reboot
    AMD Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition 2,8 GHz - GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P - 6 GB RAM Mushkin DDR3 1333 - ZOTAC GeForce 9800 GT 1 GB DDR3

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander