Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Can't connect to company's network

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    12
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Can't connect to company's network

    I can't connect to my company's network. I'm running Ubuntu 9.04. I go to places/connect to server. Then I click SSH. I type in the IP address and click connect. It connects to the IP address but it requires a username and password.

    From what I understand there is no password for the system. You just type the user name in and you can access the server. I can log in with the Macintosh computers just fine without a password.

    What am I doing wrong? How can I log in without a password?

    The employees aren't happy with me.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    12
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Can't connect to company's network

    Oh and the Server is Running Mac OSX. That might have something to do with it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    294

    Re: Can't connect to company's network

    Well, if you are typing in an IP and getting a user/pass prompt, it means you are already on the network.

    You want to connect to a network share. If you have windows machines mapping drives, then it is almost certainly a samba share, not a SSH connection....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    12
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Can't connect to company's network

    Can you please elaborate?

    The server is running OSX Server edition. I don't know if it would be windows mapping or not?

  5. #5
    wojox is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    8,630

    Re: Can't connect to company's network

    Well what happens when you type in the optional information like

    Port: 22

    User Name: <your user name>

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    12
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Can't connect to company's network

    I entered the information and it says "permission denied."

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •