View Poll Results: Using Linux without X?

Voters
189. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, I am !

    39 20.63%
  • No, I am not !

    125 66.14%
  • No opinion / Other

    25 13.23%
Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 119

Thread: Are you a Linux geek, using Linux without X?

  1. #101
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    1,745

    Re: Are you a Linux geek, using Linux without X?

    Code:
    [scragar @ sbox working in ~]
    $ cat /boot/grub/menu.lst
    #
    # All the stuff here got moved into /boot/grub/MenuCarp
    #
    
    title  Arch Linux
    root   (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/a28eabe1-9088-4e13-9d6f-6f082b79e17e ro
    initrd /kernel26.img
    
    title  Arch Linux(Command Line)
    root   (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/a28eabe1-9088-4e13-9d6f-6f082b79e17e ro 3
    initrd /kernel26.img
    
    title  Arch Linux Failsafe
    root   (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/a28eabe1-9088-4e13-9d6f-6f082b79e17e ro
    initrd /kernel26-fallback.img
    
    [scragar @ sbox working in ~]
    $
    I have to admit most of the time I use X, but that's because I find it easier, I still do most of my things from a terminal, but I enjoy being able to see multiple windows working at once way too much to give up X completely.
    Licat volaré si superturgum Aquila volat

  2. #102
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Mississippi, USA
    Beans
    460
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Are you a Linux geek, using Linux without X?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tipped OuT View Post
    Well I don't know any body who is capable of running a Linux box by just using CLI that is not a geek.
    "Geek" is such a relative term. Just because someone has become accustomed to using the CLI doesnt really make them a geek. They may think someone who knows more then them is a geek. Its all relative.

    I can get around the CLI with ease. But with a AMD64 X2 6000+ CPU, 4GB DDR800, 2x WD Raptor 10000RPM 74GB Hard Drives, ATI Radeon4850 and a SB Audigy2. I think I would be crazy not to run a GUI.
    Linux User: 380654
    CIW Certified Internet Web Professional: 435668

  3. #103
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    London
    Beans
    1,032
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Are you a Linux geek, using Linux without X?

    I have to admit most of the time I use X, but that's because I find it easier, I still do most of my things from a terminal, but I enjoy being able to see multiple windows working at once way too much to give up X completely.
    Feels good to admit it Come on it's alright, you can use X. GUIs are a tool; I don't have one on my server because it's unnecessary, I have one on my desktop because it makes day-to-day computer usage much easier, I can even run a terminal or multiple terminals from within my GUI if I want, with konsole or any other terminal emulator.

    Quote Originally Posted by Exodist View Post
    "Geek" is such a relative term. Just because someone has become accustomed to using the CLI doesnt really make them a geek. They may think someone who knows more then them is a geek. Its all relative.
    Thank you. Although I do know more about Linux than anyone I know, which makes me feel like a bit of a geek. I don't really like the term 'geek' though - I prefer tech-head!
    Server: 2.2GHz Athlon 64; 4GB; 2TB; Debian 5 x64
    LividEmperor: 3.3GHz i5 2500K; 8GB; 660GB; Ubuntu 10.10 x64 + Windows 7 x64
    Netbook1: 1.6GHz Atom; 2GB; 160GB; Ubuntu 10.10 x86
    Dogeatdog: 3GHz Phenom II; 3GB; 1TB; Windows 7 x64

  4. #104
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    1,045

    Re: Are you a Linux geek, using Linux without X?

    Quote Originally Posted by fela View Post
    Feels good to admit it Come on it's alright, you can use X. GUIs are a tool; I don't have one on my server because it's unnecessary, I have one on my desktop because it makes day-to-day computer usage much easier, I can even run a terminal or multiple terminals from within my GUI if I want, with konsole or any other terminal emulator.



    Thank you. Although I do know more about Linux than anyone I know, which makes me feel like a bit of a geek. I don't really like the term 'geek' though - I prefer tech-head!
    like me , glad to read, my server has no X too.
    What for do we need X, the console is faster and you can do way more things (admin things)

  5. #105
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    1,045

    Re: Are you a Linux geek, using Linux without X?

    I have to admit:

    this is real geek http://kmandla.wordpress.com/2009/04...ht-diversions/

    aalib to play quake

  6. #106
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Are you a Linux geek, using Linux without X?

    Quote Originally Posted by Exodist View Post
    "Geek" is such a relative term. Just because someone has become accustomed to using the CLI doesnt really make them a geek. They may think someone who knows more then them is a geek. Its all relative.

    I can get around the CLI with ease. But with a AMD64 X2 6000+ CPU, 4GB DDR800, 2x WD Raptor 10000RPM 74GB Hard Drives, ATI Radeon4850 and a SB Audigy2. I think I would be crazy not to run a GUI.
    Dude, just by using Linux itself makes you a geek. Being able to say the exact specs of your computer makes you a geek. Being on these forums makes you a geeks (shall I go on?).

    Like it or not, this is how society sees you. Regardless whether or not you really are a geek.

    Someone in denial?

  7. #107

    Re: Are you a Linux geek, using Linux without X?

    Quote Originally Posted by frenchn00b View Post
    I have to admit:

    this is real geek http://kmandla.wordpress.com/2009/04...ht-diversions/

    aalib to play quake
    I'll take that as a compliment.

    http://kmandla.wordpress.com/2009/08...ths-without-x/
    Ubuntu user #7247 :: Linux user #409907
    inconsolation.wordpress.com

  8. #108
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    1,045

    Re: Are you a Linux geek, using Linux without X?

    Quote Originally Posted by K.Mandla View Post
    @mandla: look this, it's also pretty far in informatic, ie geek, with or without X here

  9. #109
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North London; England
    Beans
    697
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Are you a Linux geek, using Linux without X?

    i do have X installed on my server/torrentslave/media pc to play vids on my tv, but i do all my configuring etc over ssh
    Desktop:i7 875k|4gb OCZ platinum ddr3 2000|Evga P55 LE mobo|OCZ RevoDrive 50gb|ATI 5850 Black Edition|Silverstone FT02|corsair tx650
    Portable: 13" Macbook Pro 2.8ghz i7 16gb RAM | Asus EEE TF101 | Samsung Galaxy S2

  10. #110
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    1,045

    Re: Are you a Linux geek, using Linux without X?

    Quote Originally Posted by K.Mandla View Post
    If I may reply ... I use both X and framebuffer/console systems, depending on the computer. For this one, a text-only, framebuffer system is a huge improvement over X, mostly because of the overhead of Xorg, and the fact that the last time I used X, the siliconmotion driver was sketchy at best.

    On the other hand, this machine is far slower and older, but I rely on an outdated version of X (7.3) because there is no framebuffer support. X weighs in at only 1Mb, I run only console applications inside an exceedingly lightweight window manager, and I get the added bonus of increased screen real estate. Ideally I would rely on screen-vs and an 800x600 resolution on the framebuffer, but if the hardware isn't prepared to do that, then this is preferable to me.

    For anyone who's interested ...

    http://kmandla.wordpress.com/2009/05...s-is-more-fun/
    http://kmandla.wordpress.com/2009/05...e-screensaver/
    http://kmandla.wordpress.com/2009/03...-and-dvtm-and/
    http://kmandla.wordpress.com/2009/09...h-worlds-twin/
    http://kmandla.wordpress.com/2009/08...console-fonts/
    http://kmandla.wordpress.com/2009/06/07/on-the-menu/

    Sorry if it seems like I'm spamming my own blog -- tacky, I know. This is something I am rather passionate about though.

    have you tried ?
    cplay
    zgv
    mplayer-nogui (I am sure)

    How did you make it this sort of taskbar at the bottom of you monitor here: http://omploader.org/vMXA3MA

    the big question is how did you make mplayer running into dvtm ? http://omploader.org/vMXBsMA
    Last edited by frenchn00b; September 20th, 2009 at 11:24 AM.

Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •