Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Grub2, vga=791, Where to edit?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Adelaide
    Beans
    196
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    [SOLVED] Grub2, vga=791, Where to edit?

    Just been playing with my new install and am having the same problems I had in 9.04 with the graphics glitch on shutdown. The old cure was to add vga=791 to my menu.lst.
    Where would I add this in grub2? Had a quick look at the wiki, but it's not giving me any joy... I "could" edit the grub.cfg file, but it looks like this is a big no-no.
    Any help?


    EDIT: SOLVED see HERE
    Last edited by blakamin; September 29th, 2009 at 11:07 AM. Reason: [SOLVED]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Here
    Beans
    9,689

    Re: Grub2, vga=791, Where to edit?

    gksudo gedit /etc/default/grub

    the line that has ="quiet", make it "quiet vga=791"

    then you have to run> sudo update-grub <in a terminal

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Adelaide
    Beans
    196
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub2, vga=791, Where to edit?

    Thanks kerry_s, that sort of did the trick, but a quick message flashed up... will investigate what that was further. pretty sure it was "vga=791 is depreciated, use...."
    Sorta takes time to debug as it requires 2 reboots to get the result!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Adelaide
    Beans
    196
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub2, vga=791, Where to edit?

    ok, vga=791 is depreciated so I need to find how to enter "set gfxpayload=1024x768x16"
    Where abouts does this happen? I can see the result in grub.cfg but where do I enter it in /etc/default

    EDIT:
    Nevermind, according to http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=536453 this isn't supported

    Not a good look for the masses

    EDIT AGAIN: even editing the grub.cfg doesn't work.
    Last edited by blakamin; September 12th, 2009 at 06:54 AM.

  5. #5
    dino99's Avatar
    dino99 is offline Ubuntu addict and loving it
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Nux Jam
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub2, vga=791, Where to edit?

    in /etc/default/grub

    add this line if you don't have it :

    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX gfxpayload=true


    that's all

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub2, vga=791, Where to edit?

    How were you able to read grub2 output error message? I knew something was wrong. "depreciated" flashed across my screen. Is thee a way to output grub2 error messages or at least see them.
    boot_info_script | AMD64 Athlon X2 Dual-Core - nVidia Geforce 6150 SE - 4GB DDR3

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •