Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Grub2, vga=791, Where to edit?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Adelaide
    Beans
    196
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    [SOLVED] Grub2, vga=791, Where to edit?

    Just been playing with my new install and am having the same problems I had in 9.04 with the graphics glitch on shutdown. The old cure was to add vga=791 to my menu.lst.
    Where would I add this in grub2? Had a quick look at the wiki, but it's not giving me any joy... I "could" edit the grub.cfg file, but it looks like this is a big no-no.
    Any help?


    EDIT: SOLVED see HERE
    Last edited by blakamin; September 29th, 2009 at 11:07 AM. Reason: [SOLVED]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Here
    Beans
    9,689

    Re: Grub2, vga=791, Where to edit?

    gksudo gedit /etc/default/grub

    the line that has ="quiet", make it "quiet vga=791"

    then you have to run> sudo update-grub <in a terminal

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Adelaide
    Beans
    196
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub2, vga=791, Where to edit?

    Thanks kerry_s, that sort of did the trick, but a quick message flashed up... will investigate what that was further. pretty sure it was "vga=791 is depreciated, use...."
    Sorta takes time to debug as it requires 2 reboots to get the result!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Adelaide
    Beans
    196
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub2, vga=791, Where to edit?

    ok, vga=791 is depreciated so I need to find how to enter "set gfxpayload=1024x768x16"
    Where abouts does this happen? I can see the result in grub.cfg but where do I enter it in /etc/default

    EDIT:
    Nevermind, according to http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=536453 this isn't supported

    Not a good look for the masses

    EDIT AGAIN: even editing the grub.cfg doesn't work.
    Last edited by blakamin; September 12th, 2009 at 06:54 AM.

  5. #5
    dino99's Avatar
    dino99 is offline Ubuntu addict and loving it
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Nux Jam
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub2, vga=791, Where to edit?

    in /etc/default/grub

    add this line if you don't have it :

    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX gfxpayload=true


    that's all

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub2, vga=791, Where to edit?

    How were you able to read grub2 output error message? I knew something was wrong. "depreciated" flashed across my screen. Is thee a way to output grub2 error messages or at least see them.
    boot_info_script | AMD64 Athlon X2 Dual-Core - nVidia Geforce 6150 SE - 4GB DDR3

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Adelaide
    Beans
    196
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub2, vga=791, Where to edit?

    I actually just rebooted and saw the "use gfxpayload" and googled that!
    And, so far, nothing has worked.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Grub2, vga=791, Where to edit?

    If you mean cl resolution, then try adding
    Code:
    GRUB_GFXMODE=1024x768
    to /etc/default/grub, and update it.

    I had flickering issue on startup and shutdown, but I fixed this with xorg.conf.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New Hampshire, U.S.A.
    Beans
    2,497
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Wink Re: Grub2, vga=791, Where to edit?

    What I do when karmic is being cranky like lately on my two intel video graphics pc's is e the desired boot image, replace "splash" with "nomodeset single" at the end of the linux line.

    The default for many video graphics is the new modeset=1 which doesn't work on lots of pc's. Like on my two intel and one of my ati pc's.

    The "single" means it should boot eventually to a recovery mode menu.

    Select root prompt and do:

    nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Configured Video Device"
    Driver "vesa"
    EndSection

    Ctrl-o
    enter
    ctrl-x

    resume boot

    "vesa" works on a bunch of pc's but not all. It used to be slower than the default drivers; on my pc's the new default drivers with modeset=1 and "acceleration" are slower so far. Apparently not all the "acceleration" code is debugged.

    If it does indeed boot, then to make this configuration permanent maybe:
    sudo gedit /etc/default/grub
    edit "quiet" to "quiet nomodeset"
    save

    sudo update-grub

    cross your fingers & reboot....

    Jerry

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub2, vga=791, Where to edit?

    Ok a got a fix on this. I followed this LP bug and post#2. Added "gfxpayload=1024x768" to 10_linux. After update-grub everything back to normal.
    boot_info_script | AMD64 Athlon X2 Dual-Core - nVidia Geforce 6150 SE - 4GB DDR3

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •