Thread: CHMOD settings, mysql server. ++ apt-get question.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

CHMOD settings, mysql server. ++ apt-get question.

Hi, I'm a newb to ubuntu, but I'm getting the hang of it.
    I've installed apache (apache2) mysql, php, and mysql-admin.

I'd like to know what setting to chmod /etc/mysql/ to allow me to make changes to my my.cnf file and save a backup, my.cnf.maold

all this is done automatically by mysql-admin but it needs permissions to write on that directory. How can I check the default settings of the directory, /etc/mysql/ so I remember to set it back to those defaults after changing the settings to writeable.

Also, my partitions are like this;

sda1 = / = 10gb (ubuntu)
    sda2 = EXTENDED
    sda5 = /home = 120gb (personal data)
    sda6 = /share = 15gb (sharing dock for windows/ubuntu)
    sda7 = SWAP = 2.5gb

This way I'm hoping that the next release I can install a fresh install, but keep all my settings. I think all the aps, and libarys will be erased, how is it possible to get a copy of all the installed apts that do not come as default? That way I can just run apt-get install *app names* to reinstall all my past aps.

Thanks in advance.

Beans

Re: CHMOD settings, mysql server. ++ apt-get question.

Hey - for the permissions on a file or directory, there are several ways to do it but it is easy to do:

Places>computer>file system> and then on to the director in question - right click on it, go down to "properties" at the bottom, left click on that, and then look for "permissions" tab along the top of the window that opens. Should give you read/write privilege information.

Re: chmod permissions, you can check

Code:
    :~$man chmod | more
    There are also easier references where you can use numbers to represent what permission you can give root, the group and individual. You will have to search for this but your command ends up something like:

sudo chmod 777 /media/driveA